Is Mining Worth It? You be the Judge.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

rig.JPG
I have been investing in cryptocurrencies (Bitcoin, Ether) since mid-2015 then in December of 2016 I decided to start a new hobby - crypto mining. I plan to mine Ether until Serenity : Casper and then do a privacy alt coin (Zcash, Monero, DASH, PIVX). I am a true believer that one coin will not rule them all. Considering that Metropolis needs to be rolled out before Serenity : Casper I believe I will be able to mine Ether for the rest of the year and maybe even part of 2018.

If you have been thinking about getting into mining I hope my experience will shed some light on your decision.

Rig

I purchased a top of the line mining rig (7 x AMD RX 480 4GB) from the MiningCave that set me back $2,813 and provides me with a hash rate of approximately 170 MH/s as advertised. I could have saved a couple of hundred buy making it myself but wanted something simple for my first rig. $2,813 remember this number.

Pre Mining Profitability

To get a ball park figure of your profitability head on over to cryptocomapre.com (there are others) and select your crypto, plug in your hash rate, electrical consumption, and charge per kWh.
cryptocompare with electric.PNG

Actual Numbers

Here is my actual hash rate, note my average is 160 MH/s:
hashrate.PNG

My actual payouts are averaging about 16 Ether/month:
payouts.PNG

Cost of a Lost Opportunity

Let's say that instead of purchasing the mining rig I just bought $2,813 worth of Ether that at the time (12/16) was trading at $7.71. I could have purchased 365 units, remember this number.

Projections

The following projections assumes an average monthly rate of 16 Mined Ether/month. The payouts can and do adjust up and down depending on the overall hashing power of the network. In general, as the value goes up the payouts go down, but just enough to keep profits marginal.

Projection 1

First, note on the $8 chart in the Mined Ether column that by June of 2018 I will only have mined 304 units but in December of 2016 I could have purchase 365. So right of the bat I can say I started mining when the price was too low. Second, if you look at the Cumulative Profit column note that by June of 2018 I will only have made $2,161 short of my $2,813 mining rig investment. Things look bleak.

projection@8.PNG

Projection 2

However, these are the early days of Ethereum and in the crypto space 100%, 200% and even 300% increases/decreases are not unusual, actually they should be expected. So lets do another projection at $40 the value of Ether in March of 2017. Now things do not look that bad. I will never make 365 units by June but I will pay off the rig by April of 2017.

projection@40.PNG

Projection 3

Here I am going to be conservative and say that Ether will achieve $80 by June of 2018. In this case the rig will be paid off by January a month and a half after I started mining, of course in this scenario I wont know this until June 2018.

projection@80.PNG

Projection 4

No chart here just a prediction that one day maybe in 8 years each Ether will be worth $1,000. You do the math.

Conclusion

Crypto mining requires belief. A belief that cryptocurrency in general is the future of money, a belief that the cryptocurrency you support is offering something unique, a belief that others will see the benefits, and a belief that your currency's value will have double or triple digit returns. It also does not hurt to have free electricity, live in a cold climate, pick a good entry point, and have an understanding wife.

Sort:  

Good post, one coin won't rule the world. You seem more knowledgeable than many on here, keep up the good crypto posts.

Good article. I've done similar calculations and it's interesting to see how people approach their projections.

Agree with your conclusion. It does take quite a bit of conviction!

Cloud mining all the way for me. These are the sites I use!
All Free Gh/s.
Eobot - https://goo.gl/FVAp7L - Daily free faucet!! Number One & Most Trusted
Fleex - https://goo.gl/hyff4J - 100Gh/s
Rapid - https://goo.gl/W1CzRr - 100 Gh/s
CryptoS - https://goo.gl/LtaaTU - 20Gh/s
MinerClub - https://goo.gl/Lfok5X - 15 Kh/s
Nano - https://goo.gl/ZgcrQe - 15 Khs
Elite - https://goo.gl/72rxWA - 5000 DogeCoin to start investing.
Demix - https://goo.gl/pcpMve - 5 Gh/s
DogeMine - https://goo.gl/syBPcZ - 20 Kh/s
I do not recommend you invest $$$ except in Eobot, more your time,
in and internally generated Gigahashes
Then cash out when you like the day returns!
Then send it over to Eobot to boost my account their.
Please use the links so i can gain a small amount of Gh/s for your referral.
Happy Mining.

Buy Bitcoin Miner, Ethereum Miner for Sale
Looking to make it in the crypto world , start mining cryptocurrencies with the most advance and better yield crypto miners in the market.
Order Crypto Miners Online
Buy Bitcoin BTC miner, Ethereum ETH Miners, Ethereum (ETH), Dogecoin (DOGE) , Ethereum Classic (ETC), Monero (XMR), ZCash (ZEC), Ravencoin (RVN) Bytecoin. Beam Miners
The easiest cryptocurrency to mine is one that doesn’t require you to build a massive mining rig. Although it was initially possible to mine Bitcoin using laptops and desktops, the growing mining difficulty as well as the advent of Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASICs) hardware created specifically for bitcoin mining has made it all but impossible to profitably mine Bitcoin at home using the processing power of a PC or laptop computer.
Buy profitable miners and mine crypto currencies from home
www.miners-mart.com
Buy latest Graphics Card, Desktop Graphics card, Video Cards from https://miners-mart.com/

  • By mining, you can earn cryptocurrency without having to put down money for it.
  • Bitcoin miners receive Bitcoin as a reward for completing “blocks” of verified transactions, which are added to the blockchain.
  • Mining rewards are paid to the miner who discovers a solution to a complex hashing puzzle first, and the probability that a participant will be the one to discover the solution is related to the portion of the total mining power on the network.
  • You need either a GPU (graphics processing unit) or an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) in order to set up a mining rig.
    Bitmain , Asics, EtherHash, SHA-256 Miners, Kadena Miners, GPU Miners, EtHash miners, Equihash Miners, Blake256R14DCR, Antminer s19, Graphics Card for sale.
    www.miners-mart.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66