Post your CryptoCurrency Nightmare Stories

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

nightmareImprove.jpg

ITT: Post your worst experience in dealing with crypto or trading crypto -- I'll go first...


Exactly one year ago, when one Ether was a mere $8~ or so, I decided I wanted to do a ShapeShift from ETH -> BTC.

Open up my wallet, paste in the proper address, hit send.

Waiting.... waiting... waiting more.. WTF? Shapeshift doesn't confirm receipt. Ethereum is always fast on ShapeShift and it never takes this long.

I take a look at the transaction details... mother of God. I had been researching other Ethereum tokens on Etherscan.io and had copied the MakerDai contract address to look at its code.

Apparently, I didn't copy the incoming address on Shapeshift and was too idiotic to confirm the address was correct.

FML.

Knowing that the MakerDai devs would be the only people that could possibly have the key for this address, I tried contacting Shapeshift support to see if they knew the devs or if they could do anything (they didn't and couldn't, of course).

I then found the Maker slack channel and quickly got in touch with the lead dev. He was exasperated and thought some noob had sent ETH to the contract trying to get tokens in return. Regardless, he informed me that the contract is completely separated from human intervention, barring a hard fork.

So, unless Vitalik and the ETH foundation feel like erasing this transaction ID from the blockchain in the event of their next hard fork, the Maker Dai contract will forever be enshrined with my stupidity.
Screenshot 2017-06-09 11.27.28.png

Screenshot 2017-06-09 11.28.29.png

Lesson for the day

Double check your address inputs and outputs before hitting send, for God's sake.

Sort:  

I bought 100 dash at $100 and then it went down to $50, and I lost three months to get it out

Check out recent Jertybanfield's post on this....

Definitely sent 100 STRATIS (STRAT) to a Startcoin Address (START) when trying to move some STRAT to bittrex to trade. Apparently they have similar addresses so the startcoin address is also a stratis address of someone elses . 1k USD, gone.

It's easy to make mistakes in the crypto world and they are painful, but at least you probably aren't going to make them twice

My crypto horror story is giving Poloniex's ETH address to receive Chronobank's TIME . I was asked to give an Ethereum wallet address to receive my Bounty.
So in short my payment is loss. Thats why I am using myetherwallet.com to receive altcoins running in Ethereum blockchain.

Block chain ecosystem and cryptocurrencies got hacked by Aliens :D

I have thought about this. bad scenario... but if they have the tech to hack it, they would have a superior encryption tech

Agreed..!! it's funny to see we humans always perceive aliens as enemies...they can also help us in improving the current system. :)

My horror experience as a Newbee.
LIKE I SAID!! TIME TO GET RID OF THE (BAD) MAN IN THE MIDDLE!!!
“Many (EXCHANGES) appeared to be Middle Men who got in to position and were there to take, screw and gauge as much as possible, some were just financial mafia skimming operations doing just enough to keep the pretence going until they collapsed. There were punishing exchange rates and processing fees too.”

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@worldsoulfusion/like-i-said-time-to-get-rid-of-the-man-in-the-middle

Crypto my A?%!!
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@worldsoulfusion/crypto-my-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63