1 week on the Bitpay Visa experimentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

First if you don't have a Bitpay Visa yet then you need to get one today. This thing is awesome.

It cost $10 in btc from the website and takes just about a week or so to arrive. Fees are very responsible and you can withdraw up to $10k per day, crazy right.

After receiving my bitpay debit card I was a little nervous at first. The card is a little cheap looking, no chip and the credit card numbers are like smaller then my bank debit card, plus it clearly says "BITPAY" in the corner which no-one has ever heard of unless your into bitcoin.

First i used it at a local vendor that i know and forewarned him that i just got this bitcoin debit card and would like to try it out. I spent $3 and some change no problem. The transaction showed up in my Bitpay wallet instantly and the conversion rate was the exact current price of bitcoin so i was happy.

Next i got some gas for my car, then a frappuccino from starbucks. No problems at all. Froyo, sushi, i even used it at a drive thru for Arbys.

How about the ATM machine? First i used it at a 7-11 and got $10 cash back, boom. This is the first time I instantly took cash out of my bitcoin. Next I took $120 out of an ATM from a major bank.

This card is freaking awesome. I am now confident that i could use it anywhere in America, probably the world. 

I will not continue buying fufu drinks from starbucks with bitcoin, this was just an experiment. Use your bitcoin wisely.

Sort:  

Nice i was considering getting one. Might just go ahead and order one.

Thanks for the mini review... I've been considering one of these; mostly wondering about using it for international travel and whether it works in non-USA ATMs... and what sort of exchange rate you'd get if not charging things in USD. This makes me more interested, though... will have to look into it.

I was wondering the same thing

Congratulations @bitcoinbill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hoping these kind of physical cards, which is fueled by crypto , gets more and more.. its a very convenient way to spend your coins in real life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33