You're never too old to make mistakes

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Damn it, they got me!


Nothing big, and fortunately for me, no investments lost, but I got caught out all the same.

You're never too old to make mistakes


For someone who spends as much time watching and researching the crypto market as I do, especially someone who is such a cynical, suspicious sceptic, I consider this to be an inexcusable failure on my part.

What did I fall for?


This: 2018 05 10.png

Basically a post talking of how the SEC would be discussing whether ETH is a security or not. Only they weren't discussing that, or maybe they were. The point is that we don't know; the entire "SEC discussing ETH" rumour was pure speculation. It may have happened, but it may not have happened. It was not the focal point of the SEC discussion as the post made it out to be.

It is now speculated that this was purposeful FUD designed to create a little ETH pump and dump action. There is evidence to support this. Perhaps someone held a large bag of ETH and wanted to get out at a good price. Otherwise I don't see the real wisdom of a pump and dump with such a high market cap coin.

Why did I fall for it?


Entirely my fault. I didn't fact check. I didn't follow the D.Y.O.R. principle.

Sure, this wasn't an investment, sure I can't even feel the financial effects of it, but crypto is a dangerous game, scammers wait around every single corner. In large groups. And with weapons. And an endless array of new tricks up their sleeves. I should have been more careful. I should have remembered to fact check everything I read. But I didn't, I took it at face value and commented on the post where I read it.

Shame
On
Me

And if I can make that mistake, I'm sure you can too. (Not because I'm better than you are, just because I'm really distrustful!) So my message: be extra careful out there. And that applies to me too. It's FAR too easy to be fooled!

DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR. DYOR.

Please.

Safe trading everyone
Yours in crypto,
Bit Brain

DISCLAIMER:
I am neither a financial advisor nor a professional trader/investor. This is not financial advice, investment advice or trading advice. Unless otherwise stated, all my posts are my opinion and nothing more. Crypto is highly volatile and you can easily lose everything in crypto. You invest at your own risk! Information I post may be erroneous or construed as being misleading. I will not be held responsible for anything which is incorrect, missing, out-of-date or fabricated. Any information you use is done so at your own risk. Always Do Your Own Research (DYOR) and realise that you and you alone are responsible for your crypto portfolio and whatever happens to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 63935.74
ETH 2749.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65