COINS I HOLD - Part 1 - Longest term hodl coins

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

It's hard to know what to buy and what to sell in crypto


Sometimes it's useful to have a benchmark - someone to compare with so you can see how they do it. Today I volunteer myself to be your benchmark.

Why me? What makes my coins so special?


You are most welcome to browse my blog and see what I've written about before. While always having room for improvement, my crypto knowledge and experience is really pretty good (modesty was never my strong suit). But my trump card are my insights into long-term market fundamentals and crypto integration, particularly useful knowledge when looking at buying coins to hodl, that is my field of crypto expertise. This post from yesterday is a small example of that. You'll also see that many of the coins I list today fit into the groups mentioned in that post.

How this will work:


I list my coins by "hodlability". I have five levels of hodl - today I am presenting my long-term hodl coins. Tomorrow (probably tomorrow) I will present my "strong hodl coins" and after that I will present the remaining groups ("temporary hold", "speculate" and "dump next time the price spikes") and leftovers in one post.

20414189_255446904970682_7622465187127751300_o.png
From https://www.facebook.com/NEOSmartEcon/

COINS I HOLD - Part 1 - Longest term hodl coins


Here are my long-term hodls in approximate order of how much (in USD or BTC) I hodl. It's not to say that I hold a large amount of these coins, sometimes I may hold far more (in USD) of a "speculate" coin, it just means that I intend to hold these coins the longest (perhaps until I die).

The criteria to get onto this list are stringent. With the exception of one problem child (Envion) and Bitcoin (which is unique), all of these coins have great teams, solid business plans and should do exceptionally well in the long-term. I'm literally staking the success of my financial future on these coins!

  1. NEO (NEO) - No surprises here. The thinking man's ETH. I'm not even going to start going on about all the positive aspects of NEO, because if I do, then I won't finish this post within the next week. It's a (sleeping) giant among coins, and by far the best way I can think of investing money long-term (in any asset class!). It pays dividends in Neo Gas (GAS). Ideally I like to keep it at around 33% of my portfolio value. I hold almost 4 times more NEO by value than any other coin. My next closest coin to NEO in value is...

  2. Bitcoin (BTC) - No surprises there either. There are only two kinds of coins in crypto, BTC and altcoins. It has unique properties in the market and is always my primary benchmark of success. If I buy an altcoin that loses value in term of BTC, then it was a bad buy, I should have held BTC instead. Top tip: always hold BTC in your portfolio, I learnt that the hard way. Ideally I like to keep it at around 10% of my portfolio value, though mine is less than that at the moment.

  3. VeChain (VEN) - Oh how I wish I had more of this coin! Value should really climb about a month from now as the mainnet launch approaches. For me it's the premier logistics coin. It will pay dividends in Thor (THOR) tokens.

  4. UTrust (UTK) - A payment coin that makes it possible to pay vendors from an app on your phone. With market cap at a mere $43 Mil it's still a fantastic buy.

  5. CargoX (CXO) - My favourite coin-of-the-moment and the best buy that I can recommend right now. A logistics coin for the shipping industry. Read my full in-depth review of it here.

  6. Binance Coin (BNB) - The coin of the king of crypto exchanges. Going to be a very big deal once Binance forms its own blockchain and possibly decentralises.

  7. Envion (EVN) - Ah, my little problem child. The company who's rouge (and lying) CEO is now being sued by the founders. The founders are great, the idea is great, the prospective dividends are great. But the legal battle to be fought here will taint the Envion image and slow development for a while to come. Very sad. I believe in the founders and am confident that they can restore Envion to its former glory. If you like risk, then this may just be one of the biggest bargains in crypto right now.

  8. Ether (ETH) - The granddaddy of platform coins. There are so many Ethereum DApps (which isn't always a good thing). Not like NEO which requires a proper "entry fee" for new projects and thereby prevents hundreds of shitcoins being launched on its platform; just sayin'. 😉 If any coin can surpass the market cap of BTC, this coin will be the first to do so.

  9. Bitcoin Cash (BCH) - The better bitcoin, or so Roger Ver would have you believe. Features larger 8 MB blocks. It's not lacking support, that's for sure. As currencies go, it's a pretty sure investment. Roger may just be right...

  10. Elastos (ELA) - A smart decentralised internet. Less of a sure thing than most coins here due to the ambitious nature of the project, but very exciting.

  11. ICON (ICX) - Another platform, and lying just outside of the Top 20 Market Cap on CMC, possibly a very good buy.

  12. InvestFeed (IFT) - A social network for crypto. At a meagre $10 Mil market cap and ranked 547 on CMC, it is the cheapest coin you will find on this list, which means that it has great ROI potential. InvestFeed is already being used, it's just a matter of how widely it will be adopted. It's been doing well this last week, but volume is so low that it flies under the radar of CMC's 30 "Gainer's" list. If it gets on there...

  13. Ethos (ETHOS) - Previously known as Bitquence (BQX). It's a Universal Wallet (phone/tablet based) that uses a "Smart Key" to secure your assets. Incorporates data feeds, a community (social networking) and a portfolio tracker.

  14. Lisk (LSK) - Another of the platform family. The nice thing about Lisk is that it's built for JavaScript, which is a lightweight language typically used for websites and phones... You know the size of the smartphone app market!

  15. THEKEY (TKY) - A security verification service. Imagine just giving all your private info to one place, and then never having to worry about signing up with anyone else ever again! Want to sign up at an exchange? - refer them to THEKEY. Join the Whitelist of an ICO - refer them to THEKEY. Register for any e-service that has outsourced their identity verification? - refer them to THEKEY. Much like Civic - but I think TKY is slightly better.

  16. Stratis (STRAT) - You guessed it - a platform. This one is more focussed on businesses. They will build your DApp for you.

  17. Oyster Pearl (PRL) - The solution to those ^&#%ing adverts all over websites. Oyster has a single line of code that you pop into your website. It then does a very little bit of crypto mining (of its own chain) using the hardware of visitors to the site, but honestly not like the dodgy sites that currently mine crypto with no warning. If they don't want that and they prefer to see adds, well then that's their silly choice. Oyster also has a second token called Shell (SHL), which is part of the Oyster system.

  18. carVertical (CV) - Another logistics coin. This one is for vehicles. It tracks their entire history: services, accidents, theft, VIN numbers, odometer readings, vital statistics and more. Can you think of anything more useful when buying a used car? BMW believes in it, shouldn't you? Have a look at this CV sample report to see what it can do, very impressive: https://www.carvertical.com/sample-report#vehicle

  19. PIVX (PIVX) - A well established and respected privacy coin just waiting for its time to shine.

  20. Power Ledger (POWR) - The first mover in the rapidly growing electricity crypto sector. Main competitors are WePower (WPR) (which I still want to buy) and Restart Energy (MWAT) (which I bought yesterday).

  21. Bitbay (BAY) - A decentralised e-commerce platform that is centred around an online marketplace and includes free apps.

  22. Blocknet (BLOCK) - A crypto to combine cryptos. A network to link networks. Enables atomic swaps and the transfer of data between blockchains. It also has its own cross-chain decentralised exchange called Block DX.

So that's what I'm hiding in my long-term safe. What's in yours? What are your ideas on these ones? Any questions from prospective investors?

Yours in crypto,
Bit Brain

DISCLAIMER:
I am neither a financial advisor nor a professional trader/investor. This is not financial advice, investment advice or trading advice. Unless otherwise stated, all my posts are my opinion and nothing more. Crypto is highly volatile and you can easily lose everything in crypto. You invest at your own risk! Information I post may be erroneous or construed as being misleading. I will not be held responsible for anything which is incorrect, missing, out-of-date or fabricated. Any information you use is done so at your own risk. Always Do Your Own Research (DYOR) and realise that you and you alone are responsible for your crypto portfolio and whatever happens to it.

Sort:  

Check out creative chain,rise...

I used to hold RISE, but sadly I sold it. It's a good coin. I'll check out creative chain, thanks.

Upvoted ($0.21) and resteemed by @investorsclub

Join the Investors Club if you are interested in investing.

Interesting stuff, thanks for your thoughts!

Glad you enjoyed it. Stay tuned for parts 2 & 3.

Congratulations @bitbrain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40