Are Crypto logos copyrighted?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

200w.gif
I'm hoping we someone here can help me with a debate that's been going on in my household.

Are Crypto coin logos copyrighted? For example, if I were to have a hat embroidered with say a bitcoin or Steem logo on it, am I breaking some copyright? If Bitcoin was a company, I could see it being copyrighted, but since it's a decentralized currency, who would you even ask for permission? Also I see it as being an equivalent of the dollar sign ($), and there's no copyright involved in using it.

Does anyone have a diffinative answer?

Sort:  

Some crypto's might be, if they are tied to a company behind it. Like Ripple's logo is probably copyright protected. Not sure if anybody owns the Bitcoin logo per se, but perhaps some specific stylized forms of it are copyrighted.. dunno.

Turn the question around though... Since the blockchain is permanent and immutable, does posting something on Steemit count as proof that you own the copyright over something (just like mailing a copy to yourself is supposed to be proof of authorship in the court of law)

Hmm... Great point! I have a feeling it could get pretty interesting if it ever ended up in court. By the same token... Would simply owning keys or even nodes on a blockchain entitle you to be able to use it even if it were copyrighted?

Also pretty curious! I want to start a specific product with all logo's attached. The thing is i am glad to ask permission but there isn't just a simple contact point for each coin..

I am wondering the same thing, for instance, am I allowed to print T-shirts with crypto currency logos? I am sure someone was paid to design them, and therefore, someone has a legal claim to their use. I can't find any clear explanation of this online.

Still curious about this, has anyone found an answer?

I never found a definitive answer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52