Cryptocurrency Spreadsheet

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

unnamed.png

Track your entire crypto portfolio balance in a spreadsheet!


Screenshot (14).png

I used the API from Cryptocompare to pull the current prices of the coins I'm either interested in or own. With this, you can add your own coins and get the current price by updating the code in cell C3:C6. In cell C8:C10, those are the prices I bought them for. Change those accordingly.

For updating the current prices:
If you click on any of the cells C3:C6, you'll see a long string of text like this

=VALUE(ImportJSON("https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/price?fsym=BTC&tsyms=USD","/USD","noHeaders"))

Updating this to any coin you want is easy:
Simply change fsym=BTC to whatever coin you want to use (ex. I use monero so id use fsym=XMR)
If you are using a different currency, change tsyms=USD to your country's currency code (check the api documentation)

For the last column "Without XMR", you don't have to use that if you don't want to. The reason I have it there is because I didn't put any money into Monero. That was all from mining. So for fun, I wanted to calculate how much I have earned if I hadn't been mining.

Here's the link to the Google Sheets:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RUZoD8Zjsc0YNePOZ-LUlKCeMO-xCdgtlq6UOm_0sxE/edit?usp=sharing

Sort:  

I always get #NAME error :(

can you reply with the api command?

Excuse me, I don't know what “api command” is :(

That's this
=VALUE(ImportJSON("https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/price?fsym=BTC&tsyms=USD","/USD","noHeaders"))

Are you getting the #NAME error in the cell where you're trying to get the current price?

Here is a screen:

JSON - 2017-05-04_151350.jpg

Can that help?

It looks like you're using semi colons instead of commas in those quotations right after USD.

Here is what I get with commas:

JSON2 - 2017-05-04_153109.jpg

Alright change that back. It looks like its being flagged because you're missing parentheses after JSON. Put one after JSON and then one after Headers"
You should just be able to copy and paste this into the cell
=VALUE(ImportJSON("https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/price?fsym=BTC&tsyms=USD","/USD","noHeaders"))

I modified a spreadsheet I found a while back to do this and posted it a couple months ago. You might find it useful.

One thing I've been frustrated with the last couple of days is I keep getting this error:

An array value could not be found.



Have you been getting this error lately on your spreadsheet also? I wonder if the cryptocompare API is starting to rate limit people or something.

Yup. I just checked today and Litecoin and Steem are getting array value errors. Not sure why as I checked last week and everything was fine.

Thanks. Glad to know it's not just me.

I followed and upvoted you. Please follow, comment and upvote back. Thanks!

Check Cointrexer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53955.17
ETH 2265.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34