Weekly Crypto digest - Trading platforms shortlist, portfolio, wallets, basic learning curve

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

pablo (1).png

I already said some time ago that I will put some energy to learn things about crypto and all that wonderful complicated things.


Previous post: Cryptocoins - coins, exchanges and wallets (my weekly learning post


I put it aside for a week because I have other things I wanted to try, but now I want to share with you some of the interesting things I found.

PORTFOLIO AND LINKS

Everybody talks about how it is important to build variety in own crypto portfolio because that is the most organic way to learn things.

Cryptocompare, is a great way to start, because it will equip you with all the necessary information in real time, about the coins, exchanges, a wallet list their too.

Ther is also a signup so people can make their own portfolios and follow up what is going on in there.

I don't have so much experience in buying things, I am more of an early adopter so I get to have some coins like a gift or for the small tasks and favors I offer in the exchange to own some of these online assets.

This is my Bleh Portfolio and there is all kind of things in there. I don't brag about the riches, I didn't even step into that pond yet, but I have a nice collection to start learning from.

TRADING MARKETS

I chose the ones that are easy, simple and that have low withdrawal limits and do not require complex identity verification. NOT ALL COINS are supported in an each of them, and not all transactions have the same fee. When you signup check it right in a beginning what you need and what you have there.

YoBit
This one is great for tokens and I found a lot of new coins in here, some are even shared daily for free. It is not that easy to use, and a website itself is a bit on a slow side.

Cryptopia
One of my favorites, it si realyl easy to use and I enjoyed time spent there.

Kraken
This was the very first trading market I signed up for, and it was ages ago. Read their manuals really good, because things can get really confusing there really fast.

I am also following the Bittrex, but I don't plan to use it too much. First, I don't want to bug with verification, not because of the safety or the lack of anonymity, simply I don't care. Maybe one day.

I added all of these below to my trading exchanges, they seem pleasant and most important in comparison to Kraken, easy to manage.

Binance
Bleutrade
Kucoin
Gate.Io
Exmo
Lykke

As you can see I paid special attention if these trading exchanges are easy to use, are pleasant and don't cause any kind of distress.
Nobody needs the stress over details.
Basic precautions measurements apply, always check 5 times before doing anything for the first time.
After you done it once, you can't fail.

QUICKLY CHECK ON COIN PRICES

Coingecko - is one page I like to use to follow up a price. You can also use the Preev, but I prefer CG because it includes literary everything for the basic experience.

TABLES AND DATA

Coinmarketcap - is again fairly simple and easy to follow.
I call it the Tables because it samples and filters coins in a table like way.
You can follow a basic statistic in there, basic data and prices.

SEARCHING WHERE TO TRADE WHAT FOR WHAT

BestExchange is a website where you can go and seek multiple ways to exchange one thing into the other. The page will find you the places where that kind of trade between currencies and wallets is possible.
This page only lists these resources, but it is good to have it anyway, so proceed with caution.

QUICK EXCHANGES

Because it doesn't have the coins I am interested in I excluded the Blocktrades, even if I use it primarily to withdraw SBD.
Be extra careful when you withdraw SBD and STEEM, these are two different currencies, if you pull a wrong one to a wallet ( or inside to Steemit) nothing will come through. Personal experience*
You can also go with the Bittrex and the Poloniex account on Steemit, but it is just too much for me and I don't want to add an extra step especially because I withdraw once in maybe a few months.
Before I let go the BTC, I was having a trouble with the fees, but others are I guess ok. As long my brain doesn't bleed it's fine.
I am interested in the privacy coins mostly, so if I want to exchange something there it would be DASH and Ether, and then I would steer assets outside.

The ones I want to talk about are these.

Changelly
Shapeshift
Changer

From this list the best exchange value you will get on the first one, the Changelly, as I can see they have really great quotes on certain coins and I saw really great reviews on them.
The Shapeshift occasionally runs out of the stock with some coins. I used it, it works, no brainer there, just a few things to have in mind, like minimums that are printed on each exchange card. I tried their widget and API, also all very functional.
The Changer also includes FIAT, so if you are into that, that is a place to consider and check. Transfer passes just fine.
All these Quickies transfer, please mind if they mention fee and don't send a sum under minimum. There is always a warning somewhere, so pay attention.

WALLETS

If you have a paper wallet or use the wallets inside of any exchange trading platform, then a wallet like this is redundant because all the trading markets usually have a connection towards some sort of VISA, card system, bank withdraw and similar. So, you can essentially keep your coins there.
The only concern is if these wallets are safe, how anonymous you want to be or if a trading platform is in some sort of a technical or other because it can happen.
The whole thing just closes up and then you have to wait until the thing is settled.

These are the wallets I have tested and they are proved to work, so this is a personal experience.

Coinomi (You control your private keys)has a great variety, it is wonderful as a wallet, the exchange is available right inside of it so you don't need to transfer anything anywhere, you can exchange your coin right from the application.
The trouble is that it is a mobile application, so it is a little weird to manipulate with. I like the bigger screens. The other thing is that it can be a bit slow.

Coinpayments (Your private keys are stored by a third party as well but they are encrypted with your password)is great if you are a trader or you just want to make some neat application and include coins of any kind inside of it. With this thing, you can even build your own personal shop with ECwid.
How? I will make a tutorial...

Spectrocoin (Your private keys are stored by a third party as well but they are encrypted with your password) is also a very neat thing, they have an exchange, wallet, card, merchant tools... in short everything fairly easy and simple to use.

INTEREST COIN LIST

Before, my interest was solely based on teh Bitcoin (holly mother off all teh coins lol), but as I abandoned that currency and turned to DASH, I also started to investigate other similar coins.
Like I said before I am interested in the privacy coins, so here are some of them. For now, I am simply following them and learning on the go. I included some data about them, the value of the asset in USD because it is the easiest way for me to look at the things right now.


Recommended resource material:

Anonymous Cryptocurrency - DASH, PIVX, ZCash and Monero
Guide on Privacy Coins: Comparison of Anonymous Cryptocurrencies
STEEMIT - TOP 5 – PRIVACY CRYPTOCURRENCIES - FUTURE OF CRYPTO SECURITY


The resource material already contains a plethora of the useful information , so I will just paste a current status of the coins on the market.

Untitled-1.jpg

7504dae8685b586e32789d3f2b95bd93.png


Join Die Hard Steemit and Isle of Write on Discord


Participate in our Weekly writing contest

5 SBD Flash Writing Contest - Die Hard Steem in co-operation with Isle of Write — Steemit

7504dae8685b586e32789d3f2b95bd93.png

unnamed (1).png

pablo (32).png

7504dae8685b586e32789d3f2b95bd93.png

I SUPPORT WITH LOVE

@OCD ( 'Curation Guild for undervalued, quality posts by newcomers')

Imgur

AND

PROJECT @CURIE ('Discovering exceptional content.')

Imgur

7504dae8685b586e32789d3f2b95bd93.png

U5duJX41ijEPkfpDicqzbrupEekHPNL_1680x8400.png

COMMENT UPVOTE RESTEEM


icon provided by @carlos-cabeza

Sort:  

Good write up for those looking to get started!

Upvoted and resteemed

very informative, thanks for this! :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

It's a lot of information required to get into crypto in earnest. I can understand why it holds a lot of people back. I am fortunately a nerd that loves learning about this stuff.

Thanks for posting @aschatria!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95