Desktop Crypto Tracker Block Project

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

I posted previously about a project I have started, building a hardware crypto tracker to keep an eye on coins in my portfolio. I have now built the tracker into a little wooden box, that sits at a slight angle on ones desk, and connects via a USB cable. It can be seen in the below image;

I liked the idea of a wooden box, especially a 'Block' as it contrasts nicely the advanced technology of crypto and blockchain with a traditional natural material and skill (Not that my woodworking skills are as good as my coding skills!)

How its made

The board inside is a NodeMCU and its connected to a small OLED screen as can be seen below;

I originally built this on a breadboard while I was working on the code;

The Code

I've uploaded all the code, and links to the hardware on my github project at the below link;

https://github.com/theapplicationist/cryptotracker_nodemcu

And I'll keep it up to date with any new versions.

This should be enough for anyone who has played with this sort of thing before, however If anyones interested, I'll write a further post/tutorial on all the steps required to build from ordering the parts to writing the code!

Sort:  

Good to see you post about the project again, and this time a lot more detailed, nice ! Upvoted!

Why thankyou! Was reading some of your posts and I'm getting more and more into steemit, and electronics :)

Are you on discord chat?

Yep, I just posted in the #net channel

i dont see you when searching for the user "applicationist"

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

I love this! I'm going to try it with a cigar box. Are you using a 1.3" inch screen here?

Yep, I2C 128x64 OLED display

Sorry, 0.96 inch, 128x64. But either should work with a bit of tweaking

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64197.36
ETH 3181.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49