China’s Central Bank Has Begun Cautiously Testing a Digital Currency

The People’s Bank of China has developed a digital currency that’s designed to scale to the number of transactions made every day across the country.

https://www.technologyreview.com/s/608088/chinas-central-bank-has-begun-cautiously-testing-a-digital-currency/?set=608153

mit-yuan-dollar.jpg

Sort:  

digital currency is going to be the future payment method. Sooner or later every body will jump on the board to enjoy the benefits of blockchain technology.

It is good to hear you say that. I agree! The past has passed and I do not see and thing else that is viable for the future. Thanks :-)

If it's centralized and without limits...why is this different from fiat currency?

Sorry so late to comment on your reply. I often go through to make sure I did not miss any and found this.
It's a good question. In the article they seem to suggest that it would be limited but with government it never will be. It is somewhat better for the millions of people they mention that did not have access to banks before. I recently lived 18 yrs. in Argentina and there were very small community where people had to drive hours to the nearest town to do banking. In the end though it is a very positive thing for the Blockchain technology, Crypto currencies that should be a benefit to our world. I notice that you did not up vote the post. Is that because you think it is a bad thing? Anyway I am following you now. Thanks!

i was just commenting on the play that banks or govt might make in this area. And to me it's no different than today -- no trust if its a fiat money approach. gave u an upvote for your comment :-)

I agree and understood your reply. It is always good when some one comes along that still has the ability to think. I was just looking for some positive. I do not support govt or banks having any control over my life. Thanks for the up vote I returned the same. It does not have much value but at least it is not fiat and the banks can't touch it. A least not yet. Again thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60478.98
ETH 2653.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45