You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My rollercoaster journey into Crypto, Mining and Investing - A brief guide for Newbie's :)

Hi. No, the cards were used for 3D rendering, i'm not a gamer as such :)
I've since built another frame like this with the additional cards on it - the Nvidia GPU's were a little overlooked by miners originally due to their high price - but as AMD cards sold out people began looking at alternatives. I tried the 1070 early on - before they all went out of stock and found I could get batter 'Hashing' speeds out of them at lower power usage than the AMD cards :) - About a month later - try buying a 1060 or 1070 card in the UK - everyone has caught on! The 1060 is the sweetspot IMO and it's also the card that Nvidia are making a mining only variant of :)

Sort:  

I have been sayin this for a while. The 1060 seems like PERFECT right now for price/performance

Indeed - if I were building now it would be 1060 based all the way!
You can also reduce the power usage lots using AfterBurner and still get a great Hash Rate.
It's about the overall cost of both building and running the rig - the 1060 6xGPU rig build I linked to used less than 500watt!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39