Battery Drain Test: Electroneum

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

 

I'm starting a series of posts in which I'll be testing how much battery power consume some of the popular crypto-related mobile apps running in background mode. My device is a Sony Xperia X Dual - nothing really special, just a decent mid-range smartphone with a disturbingly low battery capacity.

 

I'd like to begin with Electroneum Mobile Miner, a pioneer mobile pseudo-mining app.

 

My test is pretty straightforward, here are all the steps:

 

1) Charge the phone up to 100%.

 

2) Exit Electroneum Mobile Miner. Take a screenshot as a proof that it's not running:

 

 

3) Leave the phone alone for 1 hour.

 

4) Take another screenshot to show the remaining battery power:

 

 

5) Fully charge the phone again.

 

6) Run Electroneum Mobile Miner. Take a screenshot as a proof:

 

 

7) Again, stop using the device for 1 hour.

 

8) Take a screenshot:

 

 

Now let's compare the two results!

 

In the first case, with the Electroneum app closed, the battery drain was 9 percent. Well, let's face it: that's a lot! But my cellphone has always had battery problems and I have dozens of apps installed (I guess some might even be running in background without me knowing).

 

In the second case, with Electroneum Mobile Miner running in the background, the battery consumption was 13 percent, that is, 4 percent more than in the first case.

 

CONCLUSION

 

While running Electroneum Mobile Miner does drain a bit more battery, I believe the difference is too small to worry about it, unless you use your mobile device nonstop without being able to recharge it. If you want to save battery, consider switching off your mobile miner.

 

Disclaimer

1) I know it's easy to fake screenshots. But, trust me, I don't do that, for the simple reason that it just wouldn't be fun to write these posts if I did.

2) Please note that battery drain may vary on different devices.

3) During both parts of my test I received notifications from some apps (like mailboxes and social media). They might drain some battery power too.

4) My findings are entirely based on my own empirical experience, and by no means do I pretend to have conducted a pure and full-scale research.

Please feel free to share your ETN battery drain experience in comments!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for the post I don't think it drains the battery much at all. I have a phone just siting on my desk using miner and it takes about 3 days to drain the batter.

If anyone new wants to join please use my code and make 1% more BE3B36

Screenshot_20180913-140849_Electroneum.jpg