Lessons Learnt From Mining Part 1

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

It's been 5 months since I have first started mining with some friends. Throughout these few months, I have poured over countless articles, Reddit Posts and YouTube videos on how to get things set up. It was a rather interesting experience. I have to admit that the first PC that I have built is my rig and that was rather difficult, especially figuring out why the motherboard would only read four cards and not all six cards.

The post that I am writing today is geared towards those who are undecided about mining. It may be for those who have just started off mining. The most obvious reason would be of course money. So, I'll just say this honestly, no, you don't make a lot of money. You're not going to be a millionaire overnight if you start mining. You mine and invest in the potential of the coin that you are mining. Having a rig allows you to be flexible in what coins you can mine. Of course, there are limitations. My rig is exclusively Nvidia cards, so I can only mine GPU supported cryptocurrencies.

After five months of a rather interesting journey, here are a few lesson that I have learnt:

It's a Lot of Work


Image source

While many people would get into mining as a way of making money, the initial startup cost is absolutely crazy. Finding the equipment necessary five months ago was difficult. Now, would be next to impossible. The amount of money needed to build the rig and pay for he monthly electricity bill is not cheap. For me, the bill is approximately 20% and I was lucky to be able to pay off my rigs with my monthly salary.

If that does not put you off, the work to maintain the rig is absolutely crazy. There were a few weeks where I kept getting the famous blue screen of death. I reformatted the rig, reinstalled the drivers and did everything and anything that Reddit suggested. Guess what? I just had to detach and reattach my cards. Not long after that a card failed. I could not find out the reason, no matter how hard I try. In the end, the solution was simple, somehow , a wire burnt and caused the connector to malfunction.

Aside from the technical hiccups, the other issue was going away. I have to travel for work and I had to rely on other people to care for my rig. It is almost like owning a pet that needed to be fed and monitored. My friends were kind enough to take in and care for this hulking, heat-spewing pet of mine.

Mine What Pays The Most


Image source

I know, there are people who mine because they believe in the potential of the coin. I, however, mined the coins that paid the most. That ranges from Zcash, Ethereum and mining on Nicehash (more on that later). I mine coins which prices are stable and are popular to pay off the initial startup cost and the electricity bill. Trust me, it's not going to be cheap, unless you have solar power. That being said, it can be hard to predict which coins would jump despite monitoring the best coins that can be mined using whattomine.

That was why Nicehash became such an interesting option. Before you jump in and suggest Minergate and WinMiner, those don't even come close to how well Nicehash pays and they pay in Bitcoin. But, when some things are too good to be true, they normally are.

Keep it Offline

If you were following the news, you will know that Nicehash was hacked in December 2017 and 60 million dollars were stolen. I was one of those affected but not as badly as those who kept their money in Nicehash's wallet. I only lost a week's worth of mining because I kept everything on an offline wallet.


Image source

Whatever you do, keep your coins offline and keep them safe as best you can. To reiterate what was mentioned above, it is a lot of work and I have even lost coins from a simple Malware. The Malware changed my Ethereum address whenever I copy and pasted it. It resulted in me sending some funds to the hacker's account, pretty smart I must say. While it was not a substantial amount, I look to the fact that these are valuable lessons. The entire journey is a process that is unique to all who start it.

Conclusion

Of course, having friends to journey with you and solve problems together is a great reason to build a rig together with friends. I think us guys bond best over activities. Could be a simple LAN party or building a rig together, the activity itself does help in distracting us from work or the normal daily grind.

Best of all, it was because I started mining that I was introduced to Steemit and to the amazing community on it such as @teammalaysia. Happy mining and happy Steeming!


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Sounds like it is quite hard and complicated. I don't think that I will have the technical skills to set it up. Thanks for sharing.

not that hard actually, find 1 friend who with IT background :)
2 is better than 1, to build the thing or gathering the money too

There are many youtube videos that helps, but i think in our country, there's a huge shortage in equipment, so many shelves in stores are cleared out.

Bro what an insight about mining ⛏ and rigging .. some friends approach me to do this weeks back .. but i lay off due to commitment of work .. now reading ur post give a real indication towards where im heading ... cheers to you .. thks for sharing again .. always as always, you always write a good post ...

yo! there's ASIC miner and GPU Mining (RIG) thingy, it depends on which coin you plan to mine then algo..
and its always quite not small investment and study required to dig into this mining thing :)
Join our community and mine together!

Yo @imwayne what does your community do?

Thanks man, there are many people here in KK who are doing it, that's why ACI in Karamunsuing has not more graphic cards left..haha.. I think its better to invest in other cryptocurrencies instead of mining, I mean with Steem, you can easily get into other currencies via Blocktrades. Thanks for stopping by bro!

wow love your insight into mining thanks alvinauh thank you

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Thanks for stopping by @harj, appreciate you stopping by.

I found the price of gpu is too much right now : ( Thank you! alvinauh great to get your interpretation on my last art post called "Attachment" your insight would help us : )

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Interesting post, you've convinced me not to become a miner, I don't think it's worth it.

Haha.. Not my intention, but it really does depend on how cheap you can score the equipment for, or else, you could always just buy altcoins with steem!

After reading your post, I see it now more as a hobby than an actual way of making money!
I don't know where you live, but 5 months ago was not even the hotter days. I hope you are not going to see some cooling problems!

I'm from Malaysia, in one of the smaller cities, so it did not catch on until much later. After being on Steemit, it seems to be a better way of getting into crypto as compared to mining. For now, mining is still alright, but i foresee that its going to become even more difficult and costly in times to come. The GPUs in malls are all cleared out these days, much to the dismay of gamers.

Very insightful...i gave a thought many many months ago about mining then decided that it isn't for me though.

yeah, I'm thankful with mining because I got to know about Steem after I started. If I knew about steem first, I don't think I would ever start mining hahah

thanks for sharing bro! ;)

Very good this post friend. I leave my vote, and I hope to have you soon by my blog. Hugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39