Mega Upload 2, Bitcache & Kim Dotcom


A picture of the founder of Mega Upload 2, Kim Dotcom

Details about a little investment I've made in the successor to Mega Upload (which accounted for 4% of the entire worlds internet traffic until it was shut down!)

A few weeks ago I wrote about the state of investing in the 21st century & argued that crypto investments should make up part of your portfolio, no matter where you sit on the risk curve (at one end you'll be 100% in cash & lose money every year due to inflation ....but FEEL safe, at the other you'll be 100% invested in some obscure crypto-currency that'll either make you a millionaire over night, or collapse to zero).

I practice what I preach, I invest in crypto. I buy bitcoins every month, I own some Ether (but am not currently adding any more), and I make investments in fintech (financial technology) companies that are innovating in the crypto space when I see an opportunity that interests me. Mega Upload 2 was one such opportunity.

Here's the very camp trailer for it:

Now this is a massive risk, it could fly or fail & really there's no way to say which in advance. I invested <2% of my annual income. So, it won't bankrupt me, nor make me rich. But if the investment pays off, in 5 or 10 years I could make say 10x or 100x my original investment.

Investments/speculations like this should be used as part of a 'portfolio'; some safe assets like cash, some crypto currencies, some speculations. IF you keep investing year after year....& you keep your 'risk profile' under control (I.E don't put all your eggs in one basket)...and you earn an average return of 10 or 20% a year, then you'll retire rich. We are in a very exciting phase of crypto development, the broad economy is moribond, but crypto is doing amazing things....so much innovation & new ideas, so much investment...& Bitcoin is soaring. 10 -20% gain per year seems VERY pedestrian in this environment (some people will make many times this amount) However, the most successful investor the world has ever known has only achieved 23% gains compounded yearly over the long term (over 4 decades & counting)

Here's another great YouTube clip before I go:

Disclaimer: I own shares in Mega Upload 2 & shares in a BnkToTheFuture fund

Sort:  

Can anyone explain why I get 108 votes & it gets me $1.29, then another time I get far less votes but $10, what's the algorithm?

Yes, the voting weight differs from each account, i guess it depends on the steem power ? Don't let it refrain you from posting ;) Nice post

Kim is King!I have waited a long time for a new status report of Megaupload 2.0.! Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12