It's Been A Good Year....

Just like many here I'm sure, 2017 has been a VERY profitable year for me. There's something slightly surreal when your crypto-portfolio makes more than your day job!

I'm not claiming to be a genius, or a brilliant trader or anything else. I'm very aware that I earned money simply because the market cap. of cryptos has risen from a respectable $17.7 BILLION at the start of the year & has just blasted past $500 BILLION a few days ago! You could have invested in many cryptos & done brilliantly (even obvious scams like Bitconnect). A rising tide lifts all boats, as they say.

As I've mentioned before, I'm in a local Bitcoin Meetup group and it's slightly upsetting how few members have any sort of crypto-portfolio. They are interested in the idea, they are techies, they know it's going to change the world...& yet they don't invest much. The founder of the group told me he only had 0.17 btc, yet spent £1000s of his own money organising the recent Bitbrum conference to promote bitcoin & crypto.

There seems to be two tribes in crypto:

1). The hackers & dreamers...the anarchists dreaming of a Utopian future. They can see the potential & what's coming along. But they don't invest & often are conflicted around the subject of money. Or they just don't feel they have the spare money to inves

2). The speculators who know a good return when they see one!

It just seems so unjust that it's tribe 2 that are going to get righteously, stonkingly rich from cryptos over the next 10 years, while the hackers & dreamers won't. They'll be saying 'I was there at the beginning man', but still living in their mum's spare room.

My predictions for 2018: I have absolutely no idea! The unexpected will happen. $100,000 bitcoin? $5,000 bitcoin. Both possible! (As an aside, I've enjoyed many self-proclaimed bitcoin experts continuously adjusting their predictions for the btc price as it moved throughout the year...what nonsense!) There'll be hacks & scandals. Some countries will suddenly ban cryptos, others will suddenly liberalise. New & exciting projects will appear. Banksters & politicians will 'warn' & pontificate. It is likely to be exciting whatever happens...which leads me to my strategy for the year ahead.

My strategy for 2018:HODL and continue to accumulate the crypto assets that I like. Beyond that, I recognise I can't control or predict that may happen. All I can control is that I will continually add to my crypto holdings during 2018. My shortlist at the moment: EOS, Bitshares & Bitcache/K.IM.

Good luck in your crypto investing in 2018 everyone :-)

Sort:  

hooray! glad you've had a good year! Ive just bought my first tiny fraction of bitcoin....so I guess Im diversifying right? I might try and buy some little pockets of other ones too but Im only investing money that Ive made on steemit so its not going to be anything especially ambitious..... people keep talking about bitshares and litecoin so I might try them. Whats EOS?

so EOS is a platform similar to STEEM (in that @dan from here is making it) he left steem after it was finished to make this new platform that will handle a LOT of transactions per second making it VISA bank faster and beyond but more than that it's got a lot of incredible sounding features that i'm still trying to understand. i bought cheap on that, and it's been going up nicely :) do read the white paper and watch some of the videos on it. super interesting.

Oh nice, you have EOS @teamhumble. I think projects like this might be where the huge increases in value will be... surely that bitcoin behemouth can't keep steaming onward at 8% a day!!

8% a dad is nuts right? i think it's smart to diversify now. i've got a stack of XRP that i could flip but for the amount i paid for it's worth the loss if it just tanks but worth it if in a years time it's accepted as a replacement for SWIFT and yeah between that and ether/dash -- it's lookin pretty sweet ;)

Brilliant @basilmarples! Just stick a little bit in every month. EOS is the latest project from Dan the Man...the guy who built Steem (& bitshares). I think he might be a little bit of a genius.

just a little bit....hehe! Man, the guy must be a force of the supernatural! Can't he just sit back and admire his work for a little bit? These things have barely got started yet..... And thanks for the info there @teamhumble I will try and check it out :) With my brain.....you know.....that works.....and stuff

I think 2018 will be the year where 0.17 BTC is a very respectable sum of money :)

Maybe :)

i think you will be surprised at the number of groups of people, i personally do not see it as two groups. but props for making monies! :)

Yeah I know there's more than two. I'm just decrying the people not investing at least a little bit. Props to my friend @bluudz for nagging me for a few years before I bought bitcoin.

all good, in hindsight 2017 ended nicely :)

It’s gonna be meteoric in 2018 I reckon!

image

I’m hodling btc, BCH and btg
Looking to buy monero when I can get a secure wallet (or an app for my ledger nano s).
Watching litecoin but reluctant to part with btc to buy it!
Let’s have a good chat about bitshares?
I’ve got some crypto learning time planned in now my practice is on holiday until Jan.

Where do you get hold of your eos and bitshares? I’ve heard you talk about them fair often. 😄

I don't have any yet. At an exchange...or with EOS they are halfway through a year-long ICO...if you buy into that you send them eth.

Many good wishes and much love will hope for you to be better and more beautiful for you in 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83