You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem blockchain was deflationary over the last 4 weeks

in #cryptocurrency2 years ago

The blockchain reports its "current_supply" on the order of 407 million and its "virtual supply" on the order of 450 million. So, how do coinmarketcap.com and coingecko.com derive their circulating supply figures, in the neighborhood of 395 million?

Honestly, I don't know what the theory is like. but I'm just trying to guess, that the total current supply in coinecko and marketcap is 395 million based on the following calculation:

= Current Suplay Steem - Current Suplay SBD
= 407,305,482 - 11,374,310
= 395,931,172

I hope you are willing to explain the theory, with a special post about eg.

Honestly, all this time I was also curious about the number 395 million.
🙏🙏

Sort:  

Those numbers actually match up pretty well, but I don't think they would mix SBD and STEEM without some sort of scaling factor for SBDs. Obviously, I'm not sure, though. I am going to check my theory over some days or weeks, and I'll post about it if it still seems to make sense after that. (unless someone else can explain it first)

I'm also not sure about the calculations based on combining Steem with SBD. But, coincidentally, when I guessed like that, the result was 395 million. ☺☺

if you are willing to post a theory about it. I would love to read it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43