You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The Crypto Bear Market Over?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago

I'm staying long on ETH as there is still plenty of upside. Aside from serious network effects it's got a number of key strengths - talented and large developer community, a selection of major projects building on it (e.g. OMG, ZRX, BAT, REP, MKR, etc.) and a lot of institutional / VC money behind it.

You are right that it doesn't scale especially well, and will likely never achieve transaction speeds of some other newer networks. However, layer 2 solutions (Plasma, sidechains) are getting rolled out and sharding isn't too far away (maybe 1.5 - 2 years before its ready). In addition, interoperability protocols could allow ETH to play to its strengths (altho again, these are still at least a couple of years away from working IMO). Shift to Proof of Stake will also be happening in first half of next year, which will lock up a lot of ETH, and likely cause a significant spike, as I don't think this is fully priced in.

I like EOS as a hedge against ETH. Their war-chest it has is massive, and there should be a load of interesting dapps coming out over the next few months. The advantage they have is that they can see which ETH dapps/projects are doing well and simply clone them, and in theory run them cheaper and faster.

One major reservation I have with EOS is the power of BlockOne. Its a highly centralizing entity, and has done some dishonest marketing (misrepresenting TX/sec nos, calling it a blockchain when no cryptographic verification or immutability).

As for Steem, I have to agree it looks like its days are numbered. I'm interested to see what the EOS clone will be (as there surely will be one). I will hold on until I see the impact of communities and SMTs, but I think sometime next year (or maybe in 2020, depending on market) I will pull out of Steem.

Sort:  

I wouldn't be surprised if in two years Ethereum still can't do what it was proported to do. The fan club for it is massive though including Coinbase so it is wise to still hold some for sure.

I agree on Steem. In my time here it has slipped from 3rd on coinmarketcap to 40th. A lot of issues were never addressed and many problems still exist. My rules right now for myself for it are buy anything under $1 but start selling at anything over $3 just to be safe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75