Are we still optimistic - or are your knees shaking like mine?

in #cryptocurrencies7 years ago

I tried to ask you in my last blog about Skynethereum, but I didn't get many opinions or thoughts. Check it out and tell me how you feel!

I am still seeing everything in the red, and my wallets seem to get lighter by the minute. I am not an active trader, and I don't have a whole lot of leverage, aka any kind of money, to jump in head first in trading. Still I don't really want to learn from my failures in trading. Or who knows if they are failures yet, they might rocket to the moon (and back) still, but right now it feels like the things I've bought based on "a feeling" have not worked out :P But I don't want to learn from it in the sense that I give up, I want to keep on going.

Well, I wasn't going to talk about my poor self, in the specific. But trying to look at everything in the general - are we still optimistic? And I'm not talking about a shaky market right now, I'm not necessarily talking about everything being in the red. I'm talking more about getting new people on board, about IRL applications that people can grasp at, about buying your milk at the local store using your cryptos.

Are we still optimistic? Of course all of these things are affected by everything being in the red. People might not want to join in, application and integration might be stalled, and your milk seems to be getting expensive as your coins lose value. But I really want to hear you say you are optimistic. Yes, I am telling you what I want to hear. But it sure would make this girl with shaky knees have another go at investing and trading. Nothing ventured, nothing gained? Right?

ladybugi1_org.jpg

Sort:  

I'm still very optimistic! I think that in the long run everyone will get wealthier because of crypto - there's less advantage for TPTB, centralized multinational finance conglomerates etc...

If you entered crypto hoping you will make thousand of dollars in a matter of days than you might just well give up... I have a feeling that you just presume without actually investing time for extended research.

No, I didn't enter it hoping for riches. I entered with hopes of being part of a decentralized economy and integrating it into my business in a professional way. I am researching as much as I have time for, and investing as much as I can right now. And I've had great experiences as well, and I have somewhat integrated it into my business in the sense that I accept crypto for art and for services. But lately things have seemed more shaky and I'm just asking how others are feeling about it. And maybe also how to navigate the nervousness I feel as a small business owner trying to apply and integrate this decentralized economy.

I don't think it's a good idea to adopt it right now. As I understand from you, you want to support this by using it in your business, which is very courageous but not such a good idea for the moment (of course this depends on your location).

Based on what I've read, and based on my way of thinking I think it is going to be a conflict of interests between banks and bitcoin, which will generate drama, which will further generate huge market instability. In some parts, banks are working with cryptocurrency/token founders to improve their system, lower the fees, etc... Other banks (those who inflate economy and their whole profit is around creating debt and forcing money printing) will probably try and spread propaganda and try to affect the price of bitcoin and try to make people give up on cryptos and convince them to stay fiat believers.

I strongly suggest you to NOT use cryptos until the waters don't clear a little bit.

I am also sorry. I judged you wrong with my first comment and I want you to know that I appreciate you for taking the bold decision to actually use cryptos in your business, which only proves to me that you have an open mind regarding the future and you kinda understand why embracing it is only gonna make it easier for you in the future.

I appreciate your thoughts! But I don't agree. Well, sure, there might be a big, uncomfortable wave happening when crypto and fiat clash... BUT I don't see a problem getting paid in cryptos since I can use them right away, for trading or putting them on a physical card. Of course I am avoiding tax right now, when I get paid in cryptos, but other than that it's not really causing problems in my business. I mean, I can do whatever I want with my products and services, not necessarily having them completely entangled with my official business yet.

Like you yourself wrote: "So, take notice, what is happening right now with cryptos is just one of the waves. Cryptocurrencies are a technology and we depend on visionars with money to adopt it (and we have plenty of them) and on large masses of people to use it or hold it. Yes, it's going to be a bumpy ride, but believe me, the central banks and people who don't want cryptos to become a thing can't run from the future. They can't print money forever and create infinte% debt."

I'm in it for the long run.

Yes, ok, I get what you're saying, but if you depend on that income, it might be a bad thing to do. For long term, yes, it's a very good investment, but making a living out if it it's gonna be pretty hard; not impossible but really hard.

Considering the ups and downs, let's say you get for a painting around $100 worth of cryptos. If that crypto goes down by 10%, you remain with $90. Bringing that to a larger scale(let's say 10 painting) you pretty much loose a lot of money and giving a painting for free.

I just found a guy with who I am arguing (it's more about bringing compelling arguments) about a post he wrote. Be aware that I love debates!

I am not depending on this income, I hardly have gotten any income at all in this manner. But I am open to it if crypto-owners want paintings or other stuff. But since the market is so up and down that is why I probably would cash out as well as invest further right away so the value doesn't disappear. I mean I already have a credit card and can go buy more art stuff right away :) So I do hope some people will start using this offer of mine.

I hope they will! Art is important but giving the modern days, I don't know many people to actually support it financially, including myself. This might be because of the general low income of normal individuals. Your hope stays in rich people...

Sure, it's a hard business. But I use myself as an example and if I have even a little extra money I love using it buying arts, crafts or other things from local artists. And I know that my customers aren't rich. But to make it all go 'round I should make my way over to the richer side of town ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47