You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

Some more name ideas for consideration which floated into my head while waking this morning.

For me, it can be the look and sound of a word that is the appeal, often spelt unconventionally to grab attention (and of course the correct font can be vital), as many orthodox spellings can sometimes lose their potency through ubiquity.

Btw, regarding the $ name award, have you considered the option of offering project tokens instead, or something similar – or a combination?

A list of names with .com taken but no traffic:

(Used GoDaddy to check domain availability - and price, where available - denoted as ($?) if no price given - and showing on Alexa.com as not enough data to rank.)

Project and/or token names

(I'm not sure tokens need domains, but a mix here of some that might be suitable as either tokens, project names or both)

Fibr ($?); Hyv ($?), Ouishare ($?) (Global rank > 31 million)

Tokens:

I like your “atoms”, but how about instead spelt ATMZ or ATMS, with a play on an ATM giving out cash? Another related could be quark(s), but spelt KWAAK(S) ($?)

Spells, Dust, Tap, Rad, Radz, Tingl

(Deriving from gift economy)

Pebbl ($?); Marbl, ($?); Beedz ($3k); Favr ($?); Fayva ($12.5k); Talnts ($?); Talntz ($?)

Video: MyScreen ($?)

Q&A: Solva (also a town in Wales)

Adult: Sensoria ($?) including a play on “censor” (an old Cabaret Voltaire song title)

Sort:  

Please note a new discussion which is about I added to the blog the name choices: Illume, Gist, and Knugget.

Btw, regarding the $ name award, have you considered the option of offering project tokens instead, or something similar – or a combination?

That would make the tokens securities and put me (and others involved) in future legal jeopardy. We’re not going to be issuers. The plan is decentralized onboarding issuance.

For me, it can be the look and sound of a word that is the appeal, often spelt unconventionally to grab attention (and of course the correct font can be vital), as many orthodox spellings can sometimes lose their potency through ubiquity.

Quora and Kwout instead of Quote are good examples of what you’re describing. I agree when it works, but it’s difficult to think of those which work well. Most misspellings actually make most viewers perplexed.

I thought of Lewdcid for Lucid, lol.

Used GoDaddy to check domain availability

I suggest instead https://iwantmyname.com and Name.com (which also has a feature to search a list of domains). I use Namecheap to scour for lower prices.

Q&A: Solva

That’s a worthy suggestion to consider. For me it implies a mathematical solutions service similar to Mathematica, but I’ll see what others think and how it wears on me over time. Unfortunately I didn’t find any of the other ideas appealing.

Btw, I also thought of Tap but dismissed it. And dust was one of the names I had for the smallest unit (analogous to satoshis) since discussions in 2014. I also had thought of token name Iota back then and I think it got leaked from our private discussion group and became Iota.

I think your feedback in your prior comment suggesting Lucid for the blog and Candid for the video was astute and caused me to reflect and focus. Do note that although I can’t issue tokens to you, I might be able to upvote you on the CRED platform thereby monetarily expressing appreciation to those that interacted with me during development and brainstorming. But I don’t want to encourage sycophants and boot lickers. I want people to feel free to express disagreement and know that I appreciate it also.

Cheers for getting back to me with straightforward impressions, suggestions and clarification. It should have occurred to me regarding the token rewards and the securities situation. I recall some of the discussions on naming a couple of years back on BCT.

THX

Because I extensively edited it since you read it, please re-read my reply to your other comment (not the one above). If you want to edit your extant reply to that reply of mine, then please do and I will make sure I read the edited version.

Thanks for informing me. No, it's OK, I won't be editing what I wrote.

I re-read, also listened to the Smoot interview at points you mentioned.

At present, most people probably don't realise the compromised effect on content and choice that the centralised, remotely curated, largely advertising-funded method currently provides. We’re hopefully at the point of a paradigm shift in this context. The Overton Window seems to have shifted just lately. Remove the rent-seeking, exploitative gatekeepers!

I’m sure, when offered the choice, that many will eventually appreciate rewarding writers they follow on a platform they trust, rather than being parasitised.

We seem to be at a fork in the road, between tyranny and self-determination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53