You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

Just saw you made this new post while I was writing this one.

Busy the last few days; no time to think!

I like Everse the best for a user facing name

When I first saw it I did connect it to "universe", which I imagine most westerners will too.

I really do not think Everse is very powerful name. It is sort of like Facebook. Has to grow on you?

Even though it seems fit for purpose, it didn't seem to jump out at me - but has been a grower since, yes.

I doubt many people know the meaning of Everse is to overthrow or subvert.

I'm one of them!

Of all the name ideas thus far, the ones that stand out for me the most (i.e. unique, memorable, and brandable) are Uncommons and Oodles.

I agree.

But Oodles is very silly

I don't know about "silly"; certainly playful, and potentially popular with the masses. When I first encountered Google twenty years ago, I didn't know what it referred to and my first association was with googly eyes. It didn't stop me wanting to use it because of some notion of reduced credibility due to it not having a suitably serious corporate name.

I can’t think of a succinct token name which naturally connects with Oodles.

True. Neither can I.

Michelle... initially remarked that e is a boring name, but when I explained that people want the token name to be quick and succinct as they repeat it often, she seemed to concur that some people may prefer it streamlined. She did relate e to electronic.

My initial reaction was with "e" being the abbreviation for ecstacy pills (so did - unprompted - my wife when I mentioned it), and then by cultural association the 1992 song by The Shamen (initially banned by the BBC), with it's repeated refrain: "Eezer Goode, Eezer Goode...". And even though the song back then was seen as "naughty, naughty, naughty", you often see the rebellious tropes of a previous generation become commonly acceptable in a later one. So yes, I can well imagine the token naturally been known as "Eez" by the masses. I like it.

Can your wife appreciate E as a currency?

Yes. She has no problem with it.

E is more pure and abstract. A new money needs to have a new identity. Needs to be even more unique than the dollar or the Euro. Cred is copycat. E is totally new.

I'm with you there.

"I like the single letter ticker, not sure if I have ever seen that"

Yeah, really cool.

I do not like Everse anymore now that I thought of people confusing it with Biblical scripture.

I didn't associate Everse with this until you mentioned it. Perhaps it is more likely with Americans who have a much bigger church-going habit than with we mostly secular Brits! A shame if this was the sole reason that put you off using the name.

I like E but just do not know what to name the project. I would name the project E if the domain was available. Maybe we can come up with a project name that fits?

Perhaps linking the e with eez, (relating to "ease") and extending to something like the couple of examples (from various ideas I recently mentioned upthread), EZmesh or EZLedger?

We decided against Everse because it sounds like ‘adverse’

Didn't for me.

New ideas to replace Everse

Dunno. Possibly Exobase, but I still prefer Everse.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43