Amazing Bitcoin Pizza Day: A birthday to remember

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

Do you know that few years ago that bitcoin has no value and was looked down - even termed a scam!!!(LOl haters do still send out such fake news).


Pic source

According to Coindesk

Eight years ago today, the first reported exchange of bitcoin for a consumer product - a pair of Papa John's pizzas - took place.
At a total cost of 10,000 bitcoins, it was a milestone for the adoption of cryptocurrency and one that has since been commemorated though the celebration of May 22 as "Bitcoin Pizza Day."

As of press time, that's about $83.7 million for the two pies, or just shy of $42 million apiece.

Hmmm this is a case of extreme volatility of price: to the moon and the trader never knew that bitcoin will ever be huge–in fact, who will ever think that 10K bitcoins will make someone a multimillionaire today? Therefore we should learn from this and never underestimate the power of disruptive technologies:

HODL: the way to make it in the crypto space is to buy undervalued coin/ tokens and HODL (Hold for dear life) taking some profits ( to reinvest in other top projects ie diversify) . Steem power is a good one including ELyte (see www.elyte.tech ie their whitelist section). Reason is that some coins/tokens are currently undervalued and will create future millionaire’s just as Bitcoin, Ethereum and other top cryptos did.

Do you agree? Send in your comments, resteem and upvote in order to send in your support.

See my former post: The Ingenuity of Steem Blockchain Plus a Million + account Milestone

Sort:  

This is a good reason to invest in undervalued tokens or coins and HODL ...Thanks for your educative posts. Diversification is also great. 10K bitcoin for 2 pizza´s hahaha

Hahahah 10K for pizzas´s ...happy birthday

I still have to laugh about this story so much! :) How bad must you feel when you did that? :P

Same here...I wished I sold 10 pizzas for 10xms the amound of bitcoin and HODL hahahha

Ow man like, just the idea alone! :)

Wow.
I wonder what it feels like to eat a $42mil pizza.
Ok, it wasn't $42 mill at the time,
but I feel like the pizzas should have been framed.
Whoever traded em bitcoins in
must be kickin themselves over this one.

Happy Bitcoin Pizza Day!

I agree...wow indeed

This is an intriguing piece of crypto history. What makes me wonder what Laszlos total btc holdings where at the time of order, and what his effort was to mine those 10K Bitcoins. And if he has spent all his crypto on food ;-)

Good point...am sure he had many more bitcoins however still a big number for Pizza haha

Haha, i.d.like to make it into that league, where you can make statements like this: “you know, in my earlier days I used to order pizzas art at 10k btc each“

Wow.
I wonder what it feels like to eat a $42mil pizza.
Ok, it wasn't $42 mill at the time,
but I feel like the pizzas should have been framed.
Whoever traded em bitcoins in
must be kickin themselves over this one.

Happy Bitcoin Pizza Day!

Same here....hahahah. The person eat the pizza !!! hopefully we will be lucky to hit our own bitcoin like investments

happy birthday I say. the luck factor sometimes comes to us and it's called sustenance, when a few years ago bitcoin has not priced we ignore it, we assume it is not important, but for people who have it at that time very happy today, because it has a very fantastic exchange rate . hopefully we can learn from experience.

Very good point, I agree

Well I would sell anyone a pizza for only 1 BTC today... plus a beer.

Same here buddy...hahaha. I will even go lower

Hahahaha I agree

I wish I bought BTC at that time LOL but I started BTC holding from 2014 and I am still happy!

You actually started earlier than many people...keep up the success and more success to you

Thanks buddy, more success to you too!

Now 1Btc is about life time happy birthday pizza.lol

I agree....hahahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16