You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

Apparently when we edit our comments it moves them up to the top of the Recent Replies list on Steemit.

Yes, I discovered that too myself; helps with navigating.

Yet Steemit is lacking so many features such as the ability to quote or copy+paste a message, so that you could have for example copy+pasted my table rather than manually retyping it (although yours is rendered more compactly because Steem’s markdown table rendering is fugly (‘tubular’ and ‘fugly’ both originate from culture of GenerationX in the USA in the 1970s).

As far as I can tell, I've read through your latest edits and links.

But you’ll need to re-read one that (I noticed you upvoted to signify to me that) you had read it because…

Pretty much there by the look of it, barring a sudden eureka! moment or inspired external contribution.

Announcing the name ideas Funkybits, Vidbits, and Trove (or perhaps favor branding Funkybit, Vidbit, Trovve, or Trovv with funkybits.__, vidbits.__, and trove.__ domains also active to capture those who spell it either way). Bring back a modicum of pizzazz and creativity to the proposed music+video name! Trove isn’t without problems though because Trovit was already widely branded and so many variants of ‘trove’-like names such as Trovie, Trovy, etc.. And the name Trove isn’t as playful, catchy, video+personally-published focused as the name Youtube or even the defunct Vidme. Funkybits is very playful and brandable, but is it too zany? Yet people like unusual, off-the-wall, humorous, and groovy music and videos. And I noticed that Metacafe is focusing on Instagram’s/Vine’s shortform vlogging and 9GAG et all on zany or humorous videos. I don’t think the name Funkybits pigeonholes to only shortform, although it indicates shortform and instant fun abounds. Ditto as applied to music.

I just realized that Vimeo is vide-me-o. I forgot to put Vube of my list in the blog, but that just goes to show that copying the ‘tube’ meme is not good branding.

Recorded is just so boring when I’m imagining Millennials mentioning it to their friends (and the abstract association to immutability and lack of centralized censorship isn’t going to be conveyed instinctively to most people). The concept of treasures being precious also I guess abstractly implies protecting them against harm or theft (i.e. immutability). So I got to thinking and my current paths of thought (e.g. starting from ‘tomes’ of media) lead me right back to the domain name I had purchased in 2016. However, I do like the professionalism of Recorded and additionally refer to what I wrote in my prior (recently edited) comment:

But Jot doesn’t associate with voice or video discussion, but maybe that is okay because perhaps that capabilities should go under Recorded any way (although if we choose Trove the name is less appropriate for recorded audio that isn’t published) and then have interoperability between the two apps.

Thus perhaps we should retain Recorded (but not Recordegg) for audio and video which is not for publishing to gain an audience of fans and use Trove for the media published/promoted to a public audience? Although too many names is confusing. The reasons for the names separate from the overarching project name Cred:

  • allow for multiple competing apps even within the same category
  • a brandable name to drive more adoption
    (rather than funnel everything through one name because one size doesn’t fit all)

Thus there’s no justification for the separate Recorded and Trove names if all its functionality of the one for non-published media is going to be seamlessly integrated into other apps such that there’s no reason to visit a separate recorded.__ app or website.

So I don’t have a clear decision yet. The filipinas in my household and my 19 year old daughter in the USA like Funkybits. My daughter also likes Trove.

I think that would be a popular feature, but I'm trying to work out the relevance of "egg" in Recordegg.

Easter eggs are rewards and nuggets of treasure we go hunting for and collect them in a basket.

Trove is a collection of treasures.

Also, together with Recorded, they both have three syllables when I thought you preferred no more than two.

Perhaps that’s another disadvantage of Recorded compared to Trove, but other factors must also be weighed. The #1 music site Pandora has three syllables. Click to that listing of music sites and imagine where Recorded or Trove would rank merely in terms of naming?

All the keys for typing ‘recorded’ are adjacent to each other except for the ‘o’. That makes for quicker typing for unskilled typists.

Also I have added the variant Recorda and even Record is a possibility if we decide later we want two syllables and want to aim for a much more expensive .com (asking $3 million and valued at roughly $512,000). I was able to register record.im and recordim.com, so we could even start with Record if we prefer. I was originally thinking the past tense is appropriate since the function of the site is hosting already recorded media, not aiding in the recording of it. But in terms of branding maybe the shorter form works. Record is both a noun and a verb, but the noun probably associates more to criminal record or archaic vinyl music record than to a general record in a file or ledger. And the advantage of Record compared to Recorda and Recorded is that record.com is clearly not in use.

Incidentally, as videos couldn't be deleted, what would be the situation regarding clearly repugnant material (subjective, I realise) that, say, encouraged terrorism, paedophilia etc; an interim period (like with Steem's seven days' editing window) before it's locked?

Actually nothing is ever deleted from the blockchain. The 7 days is a policy of the Steemit client to not display what is still stored on the blockchain.

As for content that violates some law or social norms, I had already solved that design problem in a decentralized manner. But I don’t want to tell you yet, because it is one of my secrets that I don’t want the competing projects to copy before we release. Hint: the ledger only stores cryptographic hashes not the actual data. Those hashes are never deleted but the data that corresponds to a hash can stop being available if no entity is willing to serve a copy.

On reflection, I think I was perhaps a little hasty in dismissing Immortal. I've never been much of a gamer, so couldn't at first appreciate the possible appeal of the name. I've investigated a bit since.

Agreed I still like Immortal and will pursue it. But is it better than Trove for videos, music, or games? We could still choose to have a separate name for music and videos.

Btw, is there a cut-off time-wise looming for making a final decision on naming?

I want this out of my hair so I can focus on the technical work.


P.S. I spent $175 each to register cred.app and grok.app today in the priority EAP1 because the Cred mobile app (given it’s the token and overarching name) will be very important and I expect Google may grant some privileges in their Playstore for apps with a .app link. And we only had grok.fyi, grokfyi.com, grok.one, and grok.network, so I could justify that expenditure to obtain a higher quality TLD for Grok because none of the other higher quality TLDs are available for registration.

Note the domains jot.app, trove.app, immortal.app, and record.app were gone during stage 1 or stage 2 of the EAP at a cost of several $1000s each. So those are very highly demanded names.

1 …rather than risking someone else get them if I went into the lottery at $15 cost each after 3 more days which is very high demand for 4 letter domains which are dictionary words.


EDIT: after sleeping I think if we choose separate names for music and video apps, then Funkybits is best for the music only and is better IMO than JAMBOX. The video-only choice is more muddled for me:

  • Trove is the most concise, generic, and implies value.
  • Recorded is more specific yet all encompassing, professional, but maybe less catchy.
  • Vidbits is specific to shortform videos, catchy, associates to Bitcoin.
  • Credtube very specific but promotes Youtube yet positively associates to the Cred brand and token.

Given Credtube is punting on building a brand for videos (builds only the Cred and Youtube brands) and the problems with Trove2, I may prefer Recorded or Vidbits although I’m undecided if I really like these choices.

If we choose the same name for both music and videos then the choices are: Recorded or Trove. There’s a strong case to be made that music is more enjoyable when accompanied by a video, so perhaps we shouldn’t separate the two categories. In terms of qualities of names I equate Recorded with #2 audio site SoundCloud and Trove with #1 music site Pandora. Yet both of my name ideas are generic enough for a convergence with video.

2 The variants of ‘trove’ domains being overlapping, confusing, trove.com perhaps being difficult to obtain, and that for me the name feels lost in a sea of bland names without a strong association to videos. I think it will be more difficult to brand it and make it stand out. Doesn’t virally brand itself and will require expenditure on attention. Also the meaning isn’t that compelling. Everyone knows there’s nuggets of treasure on video sites, but what’s different about this one? And is it even for videos? However, if successfully branded, it’s concise and eloquent.


EDIT#3: I added Stor as the name idea for storage. Also after further thought, I think everyone wants one immutable place to store everything in their life and not dozens of different sites they have to deal with for storing different things. Thus I’m doubting whether we need separate names for storage, music, and videos. I think the future is convergence of all of three of these. We will store our data and then mark if we want it published publicly for sharing or identify a private group it is shared to. Google Documents explored this somewhat but more from a collaborative editing context. Convergence is going to happen with something similar to IPFS. So why not clone IPFS on our superior ledger (IPFS chose Ethereum) and improve it. Or collaborate with them, or how ever it works out. The point is convergence is coming. Stor can end up as the top sharing site for music and videos also, because users won’t have to reach for the credit card and the open protocol and commodification of storage providers means it will cannibalize all others via network effects. This is sort of what Storj and Filecoin are attempting but their plans aren’t broad and encompassing enough. Let’s go for it.

Sort:  

At first, I was unmoved by Immortal being the name for the gaming platform, which struck me as something I should comment on feeling I might have something to add to the subject as games have been a large part of my life...

Until I thought about it while I explored the meanings of old nursery rymes (a tangent your mention of three men in a tun sent me off on) I realized that indeed it does cover all of gaming in a way.

Because as a player in any video game, or any game infact you are in some way indulging in immortality, mostly thanks to "Save and Reload", and to a lesser degree if you fail in any game, Tabletop D&D to chess, you can rise from the ashes of your failure, learn from your mistakes (Pheonix?) and try again haha!

In-fact, Reload or Reboot would be a great name for the gaming platform as would Pheonix, but Immortal really hits the spot in many ways. Something for you to think about yes?

At first, I was unmoved by Immortal being the name for the gaming platform, which struck me as something I should comment on feeling I might have something to add to the subject as games have been a large part of my life...

Are you Pichard from bitcointalk.org?

Because as a player in any video game, or any game infact you are in some way indulging in immortality, […] you can rise from the ashes of your failure, learn from your mistakes (Pheonix?) and try again haha!

Agreed and well put. That was my thought also. More generally, Immortality captures the concept that virtual reality is a escape from the confines of physical reality.

In-fact, Reload or Reboot would be a great name for the gaming platform as would Pheonix, but Immortal really hits the spot in many ways.

I do like Reload because it also even captures shooting games well, although it might make some people think it’s only for shooter games. I think less people know that Phoenix is something that rises again. Many people may associate Reboot with operating systems instead of games and even the negativity of a computer that hangs often, yet perhaps it’s still a good overarching name for a gaming site. I noticed reboot.com and reboot.org are websites about rebooting facets of society, so perhaps that name isn’t specific enough to gaming and will associate more to hung computers if used in a hi-tech context.

However the more I think about, even Reload is not as good as Immortal because it implies we lose often and need to reload. It’s focusing on the negative side; where, Immortal emphasizes a positive outcome and as I said it seems to associate with a more general theme of escape from the confines of physical reality.

EDIT: someone informed me there is a Reboot magazine in Croatia for gaming. I do think it’s a better name for a gaming magazine than for a gaming portal.

I am pilchard on bitcoin talk yes, I also picked up on the reload aspect covering the reloading of weapons as well as referring to reloading saved games, I must admit it didn't strike me as a negative aspect as in having to reload often, but I suppose you are right... Perhaps I did not see the negative side, as I see mistakes to be an opportunity to learn and try again.

And talking of Reboot put me in mind of that computer animated series where characters inside the computer had to unwillingly assume the role of opposition to the user playing games....

But yes, Immortal grew on me more and more, it is a well thought out name that ties in well to the aspects of gaming you mention.

The less technobabble and the more associated with personal exaltation+emotions will appeal more to the females. Reboot I think is more male focused.

I agree. With the current gynocentric state of society this may well be quite important for enabling swift adoption by the masses.

Even Autocorrect is gynocentric it seems haha! As it is telling me that "gynocentric" is spelt wrong even though it is 100% accurate to the dictionary spelling.

Try it yourself.

You’d think someone could produce a better open source dictionary than the crappy ones in browsers. I constantly have to add words to the browser dictionary.

Off topic, but just forged this little piece together from pre-existing but often scattered Ideas.. Knowledge really is the new form of value. We are entering the knowledge age.

............................................................................................................
feelings and emotions are in YOU, not the thing that has sparked those emotions. You will benefit greatly from understanding this, and yes acknowledging they are a part of you, spicy emotions have a purpose and you will do well to use them where appropriate as a mental tool... For an example check out a fantastical, but metaphorically relevant scene in pyschonaughts (The tiffany Lamp)

You may well need the strength these emotions can lend to you (if carefully shaped and controlled) to achieve your goals, make yourself the best version of yourself you can be, and protect the interests of yourself and the people you care about.
...........................................................................................................

That’s exactly what I’ve been doing my entire life is channeling my crazy adrenaline into competitive work mode. But since I’ve been ill, my energy level was all messed up so it didn’t work the same.

EDIT #3
During my period of unreliable connectivity (now back home), I've been considering your remarks (have read up to and including Edit 3) regarding Trove, Trovve ( my preferred), Trov, Root, Recorded, Record, Recorda, Funkybits, Vidbits, Store, Stor, Jambox, Immortal - particularly the latter.

...Also after further thought, I think everyone wants one immutable place to store everything in their life and not dozens of different sites they have to deal with for storing different things. Thus I’m doubting whether we need separate names for storage, music, and videos. I think the future is convergence of all of three of these. We will store our data and then mark if we want it published publicly for sharing or identify a private group it is shared to.

In light of that, I have another name contender for you: eternl.com

The domain is available for offer on name.com, so you also have the desired .app extension.

(Minimum offer of $500 on afternic.com )

Also, etrnl.com is $3,214.25 at name.com

Hmm so maybe Mosh is more appropriate for a decentralized governance or DAO. Competes with the suggestion Civitas.

Yes, that's an interesting re-application idea.

Actually nothing is ever deleted from the blockchain. The 7 days is a policy of the Steemit client to not display what is still stored on the blockchain.

Thanks for clarifying. I was trying to reconcile that fact to how the Steemit 7-day editing window was possible, when I assumed that by hitting "Post" it was saved - forever. I would like access to previous edits of posts/comments on Steemit for the sake of transparency.

Yet Steemit is lacking so many features such as the ability to quote or copy+paste a message, so that you could have for example copy+pasted my table rather than manually retyping it...

And I thought it was me not being able to find how to do it in Markdown (being a noob to it)! Would be useful to be able to toggle between upvote order and chronological thread order.

What did you think of my “EDIT#3” rationalization for Stor as the name name for storage, music, and videos?

In light of that, I have another name contender for you: eternl.com

Actually I had thought of that too. I would just go for eternal.com and eternal.app is I were interested. I just think Immortal is a much better name, because it implies personal immortality. Eternal could apply to the data on the ledger, but people don’t tend to think through the backend infrastructure of how things they use actually work. Also it has a negative association to burning in hell eternally.

Would be useful to be able to toggle between upvote order and chronological thread order.

Agreed. The list of missing features is very long.

What did you think of my “EDIT#3” rationalization for Stor as the name name for storage, music, and videos?

While having a slight reservation over it being close to Storj, though preferring the above spelling, I agree that...

...We will store our data and then mark if we want it published publicly for sharing or identify a private group it is shared to.

and it does seem rational in anticipation that...

Convergence is going to happen with something similar to IPFS.

and that...

Stor can end up as the top sharing site for music and videos also...

I'm not up on all the technical considerations you are aware of, but hopefully understanding the gist of what you're saying, it does make sense.

I just think Immortal is a much better name, because it implies personal immortality.

It also has a swagger and confidence about it which will probably appeal.

And regarding Eternal:

...it has a negative association to burning in hell eternally.

Yes, the word "eternal" can be associated with that, though a negative take on immortality could still be connected to a form of hell! Though I'll concede that most people see the concept as utopian rather than dystopian.

What did you think of my “EDIT#3” rationalization for Stor as the name name for storage, music, and videos?

While having a slight reservation over it being close to Storj, though preferring the above spelling, I agree that...

I don’t think Storj can compete and remain relevant. We’ll see.

[…] We will store our data and then mark if we want it published publicly for sharing or identify a private group it is shared to.

and it does seem rational in anticipation that…

Will users be willing to go find music and videos on a non-descriptively named site such as Stor? With Yahoo Music and Google Play as the #2 and #3 sites for music, I think the answer is affirmative. Ditto Yahoo Screen rising to the #4 video site. Google Play was apparently switched on in January 2014. The convergence between videos and music is underway.

[…] though a negative take on immortality could still be connected to a form of hell! Though I'll concede that most people see the concept as utopian rather than dystopian.

Yeah many people yearn to be a super wealthy until they get there and realize they’re still not happy. So yeah the grass is always greener on the other side of the mountain until we get there.


EDIT: someone suggested to me:

perhaps TROVE could be used for a site where people can sell and buy stuff, like a flea market or a (open-)bazaar or something

Good idea. Yeah let’s hang on to the domains we have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40