You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

All sounds good dude re: blockchain name and dApps portal.

Actually after further contemplation I am leaning towards only using the Etonomy name and discarding Eplanet. The latter could be diversionary in meaning. The former really speaks directly to the USP (unique selling point) and it is highly brandable because it is a unique, invented word that sounds like ‘economy’. People will come to learn through experience there are features they can avail of on Etonomy which they can’t get on a centralized social network. For example, crowd-sourced curation and ability to pay someone (with too many followers) for the right to contact them (at the recipient’s discretion and price). The inability to be arbitrarily censored or blocked from a marketplace by a centralized decision process. Etc...

There’s another reason I want to unify about a global fusion concept where the autonomous E-conomy disintermediates WeChat and becomes the de facto synergism around consolidation and more diverse features that is described in the following linked blogs (indeed people need consolidation and not 100s of apps they need to manually manage and all the data incongruence and disorganization):

https://archive.li/https://medium.com/s/story/mobile-apps-will-disappear-soon-4b4e54f46eb8

https://archive.li/https://medium.com/swlh/the-future-of-making-money-from-music-videos-and-words-cddb9ea5736

https://archive.li/https://medium.com/behind-the-great-wall/one-vcs-dream-social-app-58bf299a6bd8

Note my upthread edit:

EDIT#2: I added Groove. I see this probably more as a dApp name than a portal. Please see Merriam-Webster’s definition.


Hopefully your health improves asap.

I have dropped my weight over the past couple of weeks from 75 kg (165 lbs) to 69.5 kg (154 lbs), as you can see in the following pics. I ran for example 22.15 kms and did two barbell, situps, boxing workouts all in 3 days (plus another 4.3 kms the 4th day). I have not done that intensity of exercise since my 20s. This has been very grueling but I feel as though my liver may be responding positively. I think I am sucking the fat out of the fatty liver. The key change I think is to abandon grains and take the only significant carbs via legumes and baked potato. Also abandon all high fructose fruits, so means I can eat only tart or not so sweet fruits such papaya, guava, Granny Smith green apple, tomato and strawberry. And I have to keep my non-alkaline foods in moderation relative to the grams of alkaline foods. So minimize meats, dairy, nuts, eggs and fish. And add spices on everything to maximize alkalinity. Note I am also going to diligently chew and swallow the papaya seeds (c.f. also) as I did last January 2018 when I was feeling better. Note I don’t think my remaining illness is just fatty liver. Based on the mild oedema I experience below the knee and the right, upper quadrant dull sensation of soreness (as if my rib is sore or bruised) and tightness (along with angiokeratoma) I think I have venous drainage issues, very mild case of itching/ulcers above ankles, portal vein hypertension, dyspepsia and/or auto-immune inflammation (e.g. autoimmune, non-viral hepatitis) in the digestive system. I don’t know if there are tumors underlying cause of this. Thus the reason for eating the black papaya seeds. The sensations I have don’t feel like stomach ulcers (nothing that painful although I did once have a pain like a stomach ulcer but only once over the past years although it was a couple months ago), although they could I suppose be ulcers in the duodenum.

Added details above, especially the excellent link about black papaya seeds and remembering that was the main thing I was digesting diligently in January when I started to feel better briefly until I stopped digesting it.

Today I ate only papaya, papaya seeds, diced tomato with cumin and lime (calamansi) juice, onion, ripe avocado, cucumber, can of tuna, 3 tablespoons of japanese tofu, Romaine lettuce, and a cup of kidney beans with a 1/2 cup of diced baked potato. Delicious. Satiated. I felt better within 2 hours after eating about a tablespoon of the black papaya seeds.

Note my age is 53.5.

P.S. I posted that publicly because there’s someone I know also suffering fatty liver and he has not contacted me in a while and I do not have his email address, so hoping he will read my latest posited healing strategy above.


EDIT: Feedback received privately:

Cannot agree more. That's what I've been thinking when reading you leaned towards both of them. Etonomy really seems convincing when it comes to sound kind of familiar enough not to be repulsive, yet very strong in englobing the two concepts of autonomous and economy, somehow mixed and calling for/requiring new usages and potentialities! Eplanet feels alot weaker to me, planet being too used and common for people to pay attention with curiosity nor interest: I kind of don't really care about the significance of that 'e' when I hear eplanet; should be some ecology-related stuff or any super villain's multinational company (Makes me think of GreenPlanet in James Bond's Quantum of Solace) or whatever...

I do really appreciate what 'E' and Etonomy convey as brands of new concepts and "disruptive" principles. Etonomy also sounds alot like a "true word", enough not to be associated with absolutely economy-related stuff when people really get accustomed to it, yet as a start and for the USP we could use that mix efficiently.

More feedback:

I like Etonomy. First thing that comes to mind for me is that sounds a lot more all encompassing than say Hypermesh for example. It sounds clean, worldly and I like your points about it being a new word and the brandability of that.

Did you consider the other names?

Etonomy means nothing to most people. You are a geek. Etonomy is okay for the blockhain name for geeks, but it is not okay to target the masses with. Need two names possibly.

Sort:  

Actually after further contemplation I am leaning towards only using the Etonomy name and discarding Eplanet. The latter could be diversionary in meaning. The former really speaks directly to the USP (unique selling point) and it is highly brandable because it is a unique, invented word that sounds like ‘economy’. People will come to learn through experience there are features they can avail of on Etonomy which they can’t get on a centralized social network.

While I agree that the name Etonomy is a "highly brandable" "...word that sounds like ‘economy...", and it undoubtedly has an appeal on that score, I still have a niggle of doubt. Previous name ideas such as "Eplanet and, say, Everse connected the E currency to the wider concept of being applied to the planet and "universe", whereas when the E is removed from Etonomy you're left with "tonomy", which has no meaning in itself to join with the currency; it relies on an overriding association with desired meaning of "economy" by whoever views it, and unless it is applied to a sepecific context, it might be associated instead with "thrift" to a casual observer, unless it was combined with a succinct and explanatory strap line I guess.

I read those three articles and got the following statements as takeaways regarding consolidation rather than 100s of apps:

"...a mobile app to create apps for users without needing them to code...You would simply enter some basic information and the app would generate an app for you on its cloud server. You could then download and install this app on your phone and ask others to do the same by sharing a link or QR code."

"...Watching Youtube these days has become like watching free-to-air TV in the past. Every 15 minutes or so you are interrupted with a commercial...The reality is, there was never a free lunch...The desire and willingness to pay for quality content is making a comeback."

"...anecdotal evidence suggests that Youtubers and bloggers are making less and less from display advertising...their incomes are driven more by selling their own products or endorsing brands...But if you didn’t start building your base of followers years ago, you’re probably finding it a lot harder now...[either] identify niche markets...or you somehow create a startup so viral and popular..."

"...the appeal and positioning of a social app is often fixed from the outset, it is difficult to shift it too much subsequently. Hence users are prone to leaving to explore newer and more novel social apps...To invest successfully, Dong feels that one has to understand human nature and fulfill user needs, especially for social apps...."

Yeah, I reckon incorporating these observations and ideas into a new product would likely appeal to many who crave technical simplicity to just get on with what they want to do, without negotiating loads of hurdles.

As for the addition of Groove, I quite like it (possibly as Groov?) as a dAPP name. Wasn't it one of the older suggestions, I forget?

It occured to me today that out of the FANG four, Netflix is I believe the most identifiable name for most people in being self-explanatory of its function. If you had never encountered Apple, Amazon or Google before, their names would not convey their purpose. And Facebook only vaguely; it could be alluding to a photo album, say.

I can see your health regeime requires you to be something of a dietry expert.

Btw, any plans to go abroad again (Singapore?) for more tests, to be more certain of your condition?

Loading...

Yes agree that one of Etonomy's strengths is its USP so makes sense to promulgate that wherever appropriately possible. Especially in light of those linked articles... And glad to hear you're on top of your diet also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44