Maecenas’ ICO – Invest in Fine Art on the BlockChain.

in #cryptocurency7 years ago (edited)

Today we look at a second ICO project I am very excited about.

ama-with-maecenas-co-founder-marcelo-gasil-garcia.jpg

Maecenas (pronounced: My-seen-us) is a great and ambitious project which aims at democratizing investment in fine art thought tokenized auctions (ART tokens) on a decentralized platform.

I’ll tell you why I am investing into the project (1) and my strategy regarding trading ART tokens (2).

1- Why I am investing in the project.

  • The team looks extremely solid, has been working on this project for a long time and has already 3 offices located near important freeports (international art storage facilities) around the world. They also have a Slack channel where you can directly talk to the CEO of the project, Marcelo Garcia Casil, and ask questions about their whitepaper, which I recommend you read carefully before making an investment decision;

  • Fine art has historically been a solid long-term investment, Modern art particularly has attracted much investment in the last decade and I like the idea of being able to own “shares” of an art work. Basically I see owning ART and art as a way of diversifying my crypto portfolio and managing risk (ie. not putting everything in Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies);

PERFORMANCE OF FINE ART COMPARED TO OTHER ASSET CLASSES (from Maecenas' website):
new_chart.png

They are advised by Cofound.it, a project that I also have invested in long term and which also has an incredible team of blockchain-experienced professionals and ICO advisors as well as a very active community.

  • Just to look at both sides of the coin I'd like to point to a comment made by @scalerman who discussed the project with one of his art dealer friends. Expert advice is always appreciated so here's an edit of what his friend had to say about the project:

"The 1-50 million segment of the art market is very hard to value right now. Most of the interest today is in emerging artists/modern art or in over 50 million dollar value iconic works. Also, fractionalized/securitized art takes away the emotional connection to the piece itself unlike say, the Green Bay Packers who are publicly owned but maintain a connection to a large group of investors through fan emotion. [I] doubt many will invest in art that way. The galleries and dealers involved in the Maecenas project [might just be] looking for buyers for their inventory."

Definitely an interesting take.

2- My investment strategy.

  • ART tokens will be distributed through an ICO on the Ethereum network and thus can be stored securely on a LEDGER. The ICO is meant to take place in September but an exact date has yet to be decided;

  • I am personally going to invest through Cofound.it’s pre-sale because I hold a VIP pass on their platform. To become a VIP member, you need to buy at least 5000 CFI tokens (available on BITTREX) and keep them in a wallet which you control the private keys (so NOT an exchange wallet). I personally have my CFI on my LEDGER but you can also store them in a MyEtherWallet or on EXODUS (if you know how to manage your private keys in it);

  • According to the CEO whom I spoke to on Slack yesterday, ART tokens are not regarded as securities by the SEC but rather are utility tokens on the Maecenas platform, so you can expect ART tokens to be quickly listed on BITTREX shortly after they are distributed (7 days after the token sale);

  • Position wise, I am not going to invest over 5% of my crypto portfolio into this and I will probably dump 50% of my ART on price discovery so as to hedge my risk capital and take profit. However, I regard this as an investment more than a trade so once I secure my risk capital, I am likely to let the market do its thing and ignore the price for a while and I might actually buy more once the price hits accumulation on the charts (price goes flat and boring) with the profit I have made.

So what do you guys think about the project?

#cryptocurrency #bitcoin #ethereum #art

Trade safe guys, and please follow, resteem and upvote if you like the content.

Dan @tradealert

Sort:  

My art dealer friend thinks fractionalized/blockchain art just wont work. We've been discussing it a bit lately. I have looked at the Maecenas website briefly but found it confusing. Good luck on this.

Interesting @scalerman, would you mind sharing what your friend thinks about the project, expert advice is always welcome :)

Hang on a day or 2..were meeting tomorrow. I'll ask. Cheers!

Awsome, thanks man :)

Ok. My art friend said several things: he feels the 1-50 million segment of the art market is very hard to value right now. Most of the interest today is in emerging artists/modern art or in over 50 million dollar value iconic works. He also feels fractionalized/securitized art takes away the emotional connection to the piece itself unlike say, the Green Bay Packers who are publicly owned but maintain a connection to a large group of investors through fan emotion. So he doubts many will invest in art that way. He feels the galleries and dealers involved in the Maecenas project are mostly just looking for buyers for their inventory, which was my take on it also. Hope this helps. :)

Hey @scalerman, thanks a lot for this, very interesting insight, might reconsider my investment size on this one, do you mind I include your comment in the core of the article (with proper credit of souse :)

Hey @tradealert, glad it helped. Its an interesting topic and sure, feel free to use whatever you want from it. Appreciate the credit..thanks! I'm gonna follow you so I can see any updates you post on this venture. :) Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61143.97
ETH 3363.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51