I'm mining Monero like a big girl.

in #cryptocoins7 years ago (edited)

My husband desperately pestered me to help him get on track, so I ended up taking on the workings for CPU mining Monero. I'll admit to no programming experience, and only a vague understanding of computer commands. I must say that I was surprised that it wasn't as horrible experience as I thought it might be. It was easy to download, but it was near impossible how to decide which one to go with. I eventually ended up with Claymore, older but still good for CPU mining. (I've got quadcore and i5.)

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=647251.0 <<link to the forum post with all the info and where he has answered many questions and addressed issues.

After finally understanding how to open it, the 'Read me!!!', I get it loaded and find two issues. I have no idea how to set the commands, so I can change wallet address, and an error having to do with being an admin on the computer. TBH I still haven't solved the second issue, but that first one took me by surprise I guess?

So after brewing on it for 24 hours, I went to re-open it and noticed the edit file option...and that's where I set the command. Why was that so hard to put in all the sets of instructions that I saw??? Programmers I see commonly exclude the easy steps, and it's funny now. I remember reading the step-by-agonizing-step process displayed in all of the designing classes I attended in high school, and heck yeah I'd short hand.

monero.gif

But overall, it was a cool experience, and I'll probably get prodded for admitting it after my husband reads this. It's got twice the hash power I got on Minergate, and well that's pretty cool I guess, ha ha ha.

Sort:  

It's so exciting to me to see people mining something. What an accomplishment. What first got you and your partner into mining cryptocurrency? How long ago did you start? How difficult is it to get started?

Quite frankly, I see cryptocoins as hope. I disagree with the Capitalism of USA, and really feel that the decentralizing of currency through the coins is a miracle. We've got very little to work with, so we figured any way to bring income into the house is what we have to do. It was a wonderful surprise when we realized that the introduction to cryptocoins also included an entire community of people that feel quite similarly to the abuses of the their own government. We just started earlier this year, and old co-worker and friend came to me, insisted that we get involved. We put it off for a bit, but I don't regret for a second following through.

I thought that it'd be more difficult than I thought, but honestly I think I had just enough computer experience to have a fair bearing. We hope to to earn enough to keep putting the money back in to keep building.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43