“The Cryptic Art of Old Broken Guy” by Richard F. Yates

in #cryptoart5 years ago (edited)

Crypto art---hidden art? Coded art? Do you need a cypher to understand it? Art that utilizes crypto-graphic technology to define and track and monetize certain “concepts” and calls them “ART”??? It’s a mystery (to me.) No human will ever understand this technology. (Not even the humans who invented it. It’s beyond us all!)

BUT that doesn’t mean I can’t EXPLOIT crypt0-stuff for my own nefarious ends; (plus, if you look at it, crypto has the word “crypt” in it, which appeals to my HORROR roots. I am a CREEPY / EERIE kind of guy, after all! Making monsters out of corpses---the perfect hobby…)

With that said, here’s the NEW crypto art that I’ve recently produced and had tokenized by the GREAT human-types at MakersPlace! I got an email from someone (claiming to be) from the company recently that said my upload limit per month was going to be INCREASED! That suggested to me (although maybe I’m reading into it) that they wanted me to make MORE art… Weird---usually, people tell me I make and post TOO MUCH art! (FUCK YOU, REDDIT!!!! Ban me for posting abstract art in the “Abstract Art” thread! And cartoons in the “Cartoons” sub… Just because your lazy asses can’t compete with my production schedule…) Well, THESE folks, WANT me to make more! So, up yours! (End: Juvenile Rant Mode.)

So here’s the new stuff. It’s all being released in a single edition of ONE for each piece. First come, first served. Nobody else gets it (unless they’re willing to BARGAIN on the secondary collector market, when I’m eventually assassinated by the ANTI-ABSURDISM LEAGUE’s evil stooges and all my artwork sudden becomes very valuable because of all the news coverage! Don’t wait!!!)

[Author’s note: As of the time of this writing, just before NOON, 11 July 2019, these four crypto-art pieces have been uploaded to MakersPlace but are still listed as “PENDING.” The Ethereum blockchain is moving at GLACIAL speed today, apparently. I’ll post an update as soon as I know that the works are available for human consumption! Until then, consider this a “preview” of the bits to come! ---RFY]

[UPDATE: 12 July 2019 - The artwork was tokenized yesterday afternoon, but not in time for me to price it before going to work. As of this A.M., all of these works are up, visible, and available for collecting! Happy hunting!!! ---RFY]

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

“Visitor at the Window”
visitor at the window.png
Last night, though my wife and I saw nothing, our cats suddenly focused all their attention on the window. I immediately suspected that THEY were seeing something that WE could not, so I grabbed my phone and fired off a series of images! THIS ghostly apparition, completely invisible at the time the photo was taken (as was the mysterious lettering/graffiti in the upper-right-hand corner of the image) caused a cold dread to bloom in our hearts when we spotted it in our viewfinder---although the cats didn't seem to mind the creature's presence.

Was it a ghost? A multi-dimensional energy being? Old man Englehart in a costume that was somehow invisible to us but clearly apparent to cats and digital cameras? (That would explain the strangely painted van full of teenagers and one large talking dog that was parked across the street from our house most of last night...)

Whatever the apparition was, it must have left fairly quickly---or the cats became bored with it---because the felines went back to scratching the couch, tracking litter all over the house, and licking themselves within minutes. We'll chalk this one up to the "WHO KNOWS?" file and call it good...

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

“Twist and Crawl (Vers. 3)”
twist and crawl 3.jpg
Striking out on his own, the ghost drifted through various psychic landscapes, hoping to see a familiar face. The chittering guitars and galloping bass of some long forgotten ska song drifted across the tangles mass of thoughts and worries and paranoia---but the ghost recognized nothing. Not even the tune...

He drifted, twitching, into the eye, through the pupil, and down the optic nerve to the next world beyond...

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

“Inverse-Square Law #3”
inverse-square law 003.png
This is a piece about time and loss and surveillance. It is dedicated to Rankin' Roger, of The (English) Beat and General Public fame, who we just lost back in March (2019). (He was the first guy I ever saw who had a striped pattern dyed into his hair! Check out the cover to General Public's ALL THE RAGE album to see what I mean!!!)

It's a process piece, plays with triangles and eyes---until the final "panel" which goes neon-organic-ghostly, losing all straight lines and triangularity. (How tragic!)

Perhaps this makes complete sense to you. I'm certain SOMEBODY out there knows what I'm talking about... Twist and crawl, folks. Twist and crawl...

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

“Vacation”
vacation.png
It was another lovely summer at the beach. The sand was soft, the waves relaxing, and the sea monster as pleasant as ever! Can't wait to go back next year!!!

[P.S. - Digital drawing done in Paint program. No frills---just thrills!]

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

There you go! Fancy new CRYPTO-ART to consume! To check out these pieces, and the dozens of other works I have up for perusal, check out my MakersPlace store! It’s ginchy-keen and super-fab---just like all good NON-COM-ARTS stores should be! (Keepin’ the dream alive!) Yeah…

---Richard F. Yates
(Primitive Thoughtician and Holy Fool)

SUPPORT INDEPENDENT FOLKS WHO ARE JUST MAKING STUFF BECAUSE THEY LOVE IT!!!

https://steemit.com/@richardfyates
https://primitiveentertainment.wordpress.com/read-a-damn-book-list/
https://makersplace.com/store/richardyates/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34