“Crypto-Art Ascending…” by Richard F. Yates

in #cryptoart5 years ago (edited)

I’ve got a new piece of crypto-art available for immediate “you-can-own-it”-ness! It’s a digital collage that I’m calling “Perverted Disco.” Here’s a fake reproduction of the digital asset:

perverted disco (smash-up).png

This piece, along with a slug of other freaky bits, can be seen at my MakersPlace store. I got an email from those folks a day or two ago in which they said they’re OFFICIALLY launching the MakersPlace platform, and they included a link to the announcement, which you can read HERE!

The gist of crypto-art (at MakersPlace, at least), for those folks who don’t get it, is that an artist (OR someone like me) creates a work, next the work is TOKENIZED on the Ethereum blockchain, and a limited number of “editions” (determined when the work is tokenized) are slated for creation---and no more will ever be made. Each work is distinct, and ownership of each individual piece is permanently recorded on the blockchain, and there are “smart contracts” activated as well. (These smart contracts do things that seem like magic to me---but I’m not a technologist, I’m an aging punk…well, a “New Waver,” technically, but most people don’t know what that REALLY means…)

The cool thing about all this, from the point of view of a creator, is that digital art on the internet is copied and distributed, freely and outside the control of the original artist, (I’ve seen work that I’ve made used for Faceboot pages and album covers for bands I’ve never heard of---and my images are being offered as “backgrounds” for cell phones, when I never gave anyone permission to do this type of thing!) With crypto-art and blockchain technology and smart contracts, creators get some benefit (economic even) from their work AND the person who buys the art can PROVE that they own it! They can show it or sell it or whatever they want---and they get to feel COOL knowing that they are helping to support these living artists (who in some cases are poor as HELL---the poor suckers…)

There’s a lot of neat stuff going on with digital art right now, and I can’t even PRETEND to understand it all, but I find it extremely exciting! And I’m very grateful to the folks at MakersPlace for not only inviting me to produce art on their platform but also for INTRODUCING me to the concepts of cryptoart, cryptocurrency, blockchain… I might not have even HEARD of any of these things if I hadn’t been contacted by the good folks at this cool site! Give them a look! (Do it for me, if not out of your own sense of curiosity.) Not only does MakersPlace have my punky, low-brow work---they also have REAL artists (who utilize things like skills and technique. Those aren’t really what I look for in a piece of art---they’re just not MY thing---but I know most people enjoy those elements! Ha!)

So there you go. New work from me and the official launch of a cool site where you can find artwork that you’ll undoubtedly love! Check that shit out!!!

---Richard F. Yates
(Primitive Thoughtician and Holy Fool)

SUPPORT INDEPENDENT FOLKS WHO ARE JUST MAKING STUFF BECAUSE THEY LOVE IT!!!

https://steemit.com/@richardfyates
https://primitiveentertainment.wordpress.com/read-a-damn-book-list/
https://makersplace.com/store/richardyates/

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71