Crypto recovery? Or don't hold your breath?

in #crypto6 years ago

Who out there has lost huge amounts of money since December on Altcoins and Bitcoin? With Bitcoin sitting in a slump there are many of us who are wondering whether Crypto is dead or whether its just a blip on the radar before another furious surge in value. A huge problem with the latest batch of adopters of this new tech is that they purely do not understand the way these (or any) markets work. Of course, it was all positive whilst Bitcoin was skyrocketing by the day but in reality it just isn't a situation people should have ever got used to. When the rush is on, it's on...But by the same token you need to be aware that these conditions never last forever.

I can clearly remember people in December saying they were selling their investment properties to 'invest' in Bitcoin. These very people right now are shitting themselves because they are convinced they have lost their money. At this point in time it may be true, however experienced and educated investors know that with every peak there is the possibility of a just as shattering plunge. I personally expect Bitcoin to stabilize in value, along with the other Altcoins, over the next few months before showing considerable growth again.

A tip for the future though...

I would definitely look to invest in Altcoins that serve a genuine purpose. Don't just buy things because people are giving you a tip about what the next "hot" crypto currency is going to be. In my case, I have heavily invest in Power Ledger because of the way they have decentralised the sale of renewable energy between those who produce excess energy and those who want to purchase it. There is only ever going to be so many Security coins that can control the market share, if you look towards currencies that serve a purpose and make real life easier then you will be on to a winner in my opinion.

Anyway, I just thought I would put something out there because a lot of people seem to just sell off at a loss when the smartest thing to do is to stick with your investment and tough out the rough patch we are currently experiencing.

Good luck with your portfolio everyone!

Sort:  

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts!

yeah so true. HODL is best option. I also read of people taking mortgages out to put it on Bitcoin and that was when it was at 20k! imagine how glum they would be now! If they hold their nerve they will be ok in the long run but heavens help them if they think they have a made a horrible mistake and sell for a loss.

I've bought bitcoin across a range of values, I topped up a little more at the peak but my losses are offset by anything I bought earlier. Those who put their houses in at above 17k aud during the FOMO phase... Wowweee I hope they have balls of steel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50