My First Bitcoin Was $690 - Steem The Gateway Crypto-Currency

in #crypto7 years ago

After I played around a bit on SteemIt, I wanted to figure out how to buy Steem.  My very first purchase was spending $100 with Paypal on a site called Paxful.  I wrote about the experience and will share the link at the bottom of this article.  

A few weeks later I wanted to purchase a small amount of bitcoin for investment and trading purposes.  So, my next strange crypto experience was to meet a stranger at a bank and purchase 3 Bitcoins for $690 each.  Oh, how I wish I had recorded the conversation with my husband about how I was going to remove cash from my bank account and meet a stranger downtown to rub cell phones and walk away without my cash and some digital money instead.  Oh the conversation is still a stand out in a 25 year marriage.  (lol)  Just this past week, he also bought some Bitcoin, so I guess it worked out okay.


Anyway, all of these stories and how to go about doing this were discussed on SteemSpeak, where I had mostly support from my new Steem Friends.  The few who thought it was a bad idea were those who thought I was buying in at the peak, and that $690 was way too much.  As it turns out, I think I did okay.  

I know by most of your standards I got in late, and I know I did.  I also suspect I got in early.  :)  I can't wait to meet the next wave of new crypto-users as they are coming on-board via SteemIt.  The gateway to crypto-currency.  

What's your Crypto Story?


My first Crypto purchase

Sort:  

love that... the gateway crypto i so agree!! huge ups

Thank you. It is very true, there are a lot of people around here that got into crypto as an after thought after having used SteemIt to earn Steem.

My first experience with crypto was running minergate to mine bytecoin on 4 different computers....all in all I think I made about 60k bytecoin over the whole period after which I realised that I really didn't like minergate but it was a good learning experience nonetheless.

Learning experiences are just practice. We know what they say about practice. It makes perfect. ;)

Amazing post @whatsup , I really enjoyed your story . : )

Thank you. I am so happy to see you here.

Just getting started with crypto so interested in hearing others' stories tnx for sharing :)

I see you are using the crypto gateway, SteemIt. Welcome.

My first bitcoin/satoshis came from referrals at a BTC exchange website exclusive in our country. ^_^ I managed to earn around 20 USD there and I converted it to BTC when it was still around 1.2K. Although I withdrew it after a while 'cos I was afraid to lose it - I was just new back then, that's why. But now, I've learned a few. :)

Lessons learned.

I just start 2 weeks ago :))) I will see .... I hope my B&W photography make me one BTC :)

Welcome. Beware, you have been warned. You will soon have several crypto.

I hope so ....I need it very

Wow... $690 Bitcoin... how cheap! Imagine people in the future saying $1.30 Steem, how cheap!

:) And... It wasn't very long ago.

Very interesting story, I also think you got in early if it makes you feel good:}

It does make me feel good! Thank you. :) Grins.

lol. Great story! I need to step my game up. Resteemed, upvoted, and already following

Thank you, I will go immediately and check out your blog. I always vote on comments in my blog if they are meaningful. :)

A coffee shop called waves in Vancouver accepted bitcoin when the price was 130...i didn't have a smart phones or the sense to buy bitcoin back then.. Last year after hearing TDV news for a few weeks and seeing the price correction to 500 a bitcoin I decided this is stable enough to invest in and bought half a bitcoin on my phone from a Atm at a hemp clothing shop in Victoria bc... Looks like it was the best investment I made last year..

Great Story! Really good one. I love hearing how people got introduced.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83