You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto Lunch week 6 - Saving up to buy silver online, sell it locally for cash, and get groceries!

in #crypto4 years ago

I'm guessing the big thing for this is "privacy"?? But if you're prepared to send your delivery address to a bullion company, why not buy direct from silver stacker here on steem/hive. You may find you're doing a few people a favour and you can noth cut out the middle man (bullion dealer/exchange) and save each other a few $$$. Better still, the silver community is scattered all over the North American continental and you both could just meet in public to exchange and save on postage too.

Just a suggestion, and if you're game, I can make the connections for you.

Sort:  

Hey :)
Yeah, I think cryptos need to be private, or at least have an option for privacy. If not, why call them cryptos, and not just virtual currencies like the digital USD, or FB's Libra?
I can rent a PO box around the corner for $15 a month or $120 a year, prepaid in cash, no ID required, and get the order shipped there. I think there are similar boxes for rent in many towns and cities. Even some little corner stores in the middle of nowhere offer that service. Just saying since you mentioned shipping privacy.
You're right, there's nothing wrong with making it happen via private sale. If I do it ongoing, I may go that route. At first, I want to document the process that just about anybody can do, even if they don't have a trusted private connection. I'm trying to put together a sort of 'primer', a how-to that works for most people in most situations. To increase efficiency if I scale up and do this ongoing, you're very wise to suggest cutting out the middle man. And thank you for offering to help find a buyer/seller. I may need that for Lunch #2 when we get there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48