You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are people foolish for 'standing on the wrong side of history'?

in #crypto6 years ago

What if we finally figure out how to create living bacteria from scratch (we're already pretty close).

I need a reference for that

Sort:  

Well if you ever read my POSTS, you'd know. But I guess start from this google result:

https://www.scripps.edu/news-and-events/press-room/2018/20181029-schultz-synthetic-microorganisms.html

It's not something you can reallly get a single reference for because where you might start here with synthetic bacteria, you then have to dig for the progress of creating synthetic RNA/DNA and the latest understanding of amino acid construction... maybe another post worthy of my time

I'd say GMO yeast is a long, long, long, long, long, long way from creating "living bacteria from scratch "

I dunno I just clicked the first Google result. How about: https://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/artificial-life-synthetic-dna-scientists-living-organisms-create-scripps-research-institute-floyd-a8083966.html

Also bear in mind when I say 'pretty close' I'm not talking by my next birthday, here, but I reckon within our lifetimes we'll see at least synthetic cells and possibly designer bacteria

Also, just stumbled across this on facebook feed - http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2018/11/biologists-create-most-lifelike-artificial-cells-yet

Yet these mock cells are cutting-edge, "the closest anyone has come to building an actual functioning synthetic eukaryotic cell,"

Can they reproduce? I doubt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51