The 24/7 thrill of getting into crypto currency investing

in #crypto6 years ago

The new year had just begun when my better half went on a 2 weeks holiday - not only leaving me behind with our two kids and dogs, but also a whole lot of spare time in the evenings.

I'd been looking into investing some of my savings since May 2017 but never found a good entry point and as time went by I assumed it was too late given the enormous price increase. However, given more free time to investigate further I was triggered to make my first move into Cardano (ADA) and Tron (TRX). It was a rather rash move without looking into market expectations and surrounding trends that could influence the market.

This was the 4th January - more or less the all time high of total market cap - and probably the worst time of entering as the market hit a big speed bump from there on. However, I was now in the market. I had a stake in it and I needed to monitor what happened. This urge to constantly know what's happening in the market, the total market cap, the different exchanges - it's SO ADDICTIVE!

I find myself waking up at night wanting to check the latest developments. Constantly eager for news regarding my investments. One side of me loves it. Another side of me acknowledges that this can prove to be a problem in the long run :)

Back to my spare time evenings I started investing more. Looking for news, influencers opinions and opportunities in general. I'm barely scratching the surface so far, still I'd like to recommend one guy for you to look into for inspiration, tips, predictions and possible opportunities. He's an energetic lad who goes by the name @suppoman and he's streaming live on Youtube several times a week. In my opinion he does great work for his followers where he lays down the hard work browsing new ICO's, reading the white papers, looking into the teams behind them, gives investments opportunities of undervalued currencies and he also has a fairly good overview of the total market developments. I absolutely recommend you to follow him.

After nearly a month of "being in the game" I'm invested in 8 currencies and tokens totally.
I'm spending increasingly more time following them and I've even made spreadsheet accustomed to my need for control of my investments as you can see below.

capture20180129112132194.png

Getting into crypto investing I thought it was hard to keep track of how it all went with all the conversions from Norwegian Kroners (NOK) to Bitcoin or Ethereum - then having to follow the currencies in either US Dollars, Bitcoin or Ethereum in the different exhanges or Coin Marketcap etc. I tested out many crypto portfolio apps but never found one that did it all for me. Therefore I built my own sheet accustomed to my need (except automatic feeding of the last prices) and I'm enjoying myself playing around with last selling prices monitoring my profits.
YES! THERE'S ALREADY PROFITS :)

If I can come with a last advice it would be this:
Don't get too excited and jump straight in like I did. Do your research. Find your trusted influencers. Monitor the currencies you're interested in. Find investments that naturally excites and interests you. If I'd held back a little bit I could've easily saved $400 on my first two investments on ADA and TRX.

Sort:  

have a look and do some research on NEO as well!!

Thanks for checking in @betterthanhome - I have looked into it and think it will have a boost the coming days given the conference in SFO at the moment where I think there will be news updates and announcements regarding upcoming ICO's on their blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95