You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A tale of two ICOs.

in #crypto7 years ago

The question remains though... Why do these two projects need tokens?

I am a huge fan of Ethereum, the tokenized web, Web 3.0, etc. No doubt about that!

But I am not able to grasp why a mobile browser/messenger app or a blockchain-based identification protocol needs tokens. Am I missing something?

I have used Status on my mobile phone on the testnet. And it's an amazing application!

But, not all of the Dapps need tokens.

A bit of a frenzy, I guess...

Sort:  

Civic needs tokens because it is the only way to keep the system decentralized. The decentralized eco system will reward users and give away tokens through the affiliate programs to promote mass adoption. So people will get tokens for free for trying the service.

Could well be, I don't know anything about Civic. Haven't looked in to it.

I like that you ask the important questions. I wonder this myself....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48