Comment Contest: Crypto Conversations and BTC ATM Machines

in #crypto6 years ago

Last week while I was in a different neighborhood of Chicago and stopped at a gas station. They had Bitcoin ATM machines which is kind of crazy to me. I know they aren't new, but I just haven't ever noticed one before. Asked the cashier about them and he said they get used a lot by people buying BTC lately.

20180825_074916.jpg

I know when the market was hot everyone wanted to know about crypto and how my btc was going. Then they switched to saying it's a bubble and will be worthless in a year and the price falling was proof. Then once it stopped falling they just didn't ask me anything for a while. But lately some of these people are seeing articles on CNBC and other financial outlets and they are wondering if it's time to get involved. This time before the next run up in prices. It's an interesting cycle of conversations.

20180825_074902.jpg

So wondering do you have ATM's like these near you? Have you ever used one? And how have your conversations with other people been going about crypto lately?

Comment Contest

Based on what I asked for above the best 3 comments will each earn an SBI share. As it's my money to give away what is best will be based on nothing other then my own opinion.

Time Frame: Until post payout. Will buy the SBI shares in a week in the evening.

That's it, make a real comment before the post pays out and it will be considered.

Support

Want to be clear about this, to be considered for the prize you don't need to upvote the post or resteem, but naturally these things are appreciated.

I'll be upvoting comments but to get that upvote you must upvote the post with either 100% power or at least enough power that it shows up as 1c or higher if you have the slider bar. Only think this is fair as my upvote for real comments (and flag spam) is 2-3c each on the low end and sometimes much higher. Support me and I'll support you.

Speeking of support, I'm pushing towards level 60 and looking for some added exposure so if you think anyone you know might be interested in this topic please consider resteeming this post.

Sort:  

This post has been revived by steem-forever!

I've actually searched and found one in my area. I have been meaning to try it out since I'm brand new to crypto currency. I think it's quite genius if you're new and not sure about possible scams you can encounter. I just wish the ATM was a little bit closer as I live and work on a small island and I barely venture off as it is. Most of my discussions about crypto happen mainly on Steemit but for the most part I'm just trying to learn by following a few people that seem to be able to explain things a little more simply. I'm going to write myself a reminder right now to go check out the ATM specifically this weekend when I'm off since any trip off the island is for a specific purpose.
Do you know if Steem can be purchased at the ATM? I'm looking for a simpler option.

Do you know if Steem can be purchased at the ATM? I'm looking for a simpler option.

No, not really. Most of the ATM's accept only major crypto, like BTC, ETH, XRP and maybe XMR. Didn't saw until now anything else. I believe it's to early for it. Maybe in 2-3 years we'll have a larger variety.

No steem on this one or any I have heard off. But BTC can be converted so easily.

Let me know what you find with your atm.

I wish that I could find one of that ATM in Jakarta, Indonesia though I am not really into the cypto business😊 months ago I asked my friend about mining the btc or etherum because we already had indodax and btc Indonesia, but I haven't create any account due to my stupid handphone😔 freezing anytime I try to make a registration and that friend suggest me to buy a stock rather than mining the crypto though he still so into the crypto business.

I don't have much money to invest on cryptocurrency so far, but paying cash in fiat money for sone steem to a friend in need, something that I will never regret at all.

You don't need to upvote my comment if it is not eligible and I upvote your post because I like the slider 😁 and the blue arrow/green arro

The stock market is so ready for a collapse in the US...but I've been thinking this for at least a year now. When it falls people will loose 50% of their money fast. I've pulled everything out of stocks right now and am waiting for the fall before buying again. Have the exact same feeling I did before the last market crash...that one I was 14 months early on but it came.

Crypto IMO has some massive potential long term as institutional investors start buying. People don't realize how much money that is, but it's a massive amount. More then the crypto space is worth as a whole.

That's another reason why I've never interesting in buying stocks😊 I'll do that when I have tons of money to spent a bit on it to keep the economic wheel running.
Crypto is sexy but need sometimes to really get into it, i knew its a best choice for the future world. I am a conventional one, you know.. kinda people who'd better invest the money on people in the village to take care of rice field or cattles or buying golden jewelry for saving. I've seen some friends withdrawn their btc and eth due to immediate need for living cost too.

Anyway.. thank you for the sharing and explanation, I am a comventional open minded one, my best choice still Steem and hope that SMT will really work soon.

Sometimes it's best to invest in what you understand. People running around looking for the next best thing might find a winner, but more times then not they end up loosing way more then winning. So sticking with steem isn't a bad idea and with the built in inflation factor of powered up steem you are earning more steem just by owning it which is pretty cool on top of all the other ways to earn.

friend suggest me to buy a stock rather than mining the crypto

Neither are too good. Mining is pretty expensive and take some deeper knowledge and the stock market won't bring you high gains. If you're in it for the money, start learning about crypto :)

Thank you for your advise😉 I'm thinking about for the money not from steemit, but crypto currency is sexy and I do need to learn about it.

Yes, I do have crypto ATM's in the city, where one can buy BTC, ETH and XRP. I also do have a "you can trade Bitcoin here" store or something, didn't go there yet, but I will with the first occasion when I get in the city. I super excited about it and I'm also curios about what the employees actually know about crypto. Are they there only for the job or are they really invested in crypto?
Regarding the conversations about crypto: most of this conversations actually happen here on steemit, where I like to engage in discussions with other steemians who are "deeply" involved in the crypto space. Besides this, I have a few friends on the outside to whom I talk to and that's about it. Not many know about the crypto space... it is yet to be discovered.
Cheers guys! ✌

I want to go! A store front that is about crypto...would love to see what that is about. Blog post please and tag me.

The fact that so many people still know nothing about crypto amazes me. It just shows how much more potential there is in the market place.

this is so very interesting to see all over, i’m near denver and i’ve heard they are here but i haven’t seen one either. maybe we should have a contest to find one in your area and take a photo like you did. LOL! you saw one at a gas station tho (in Chitown no less) and what are the fees? i keep hearing fees are crazy, but people in canada use them all the time. ive seen @thedamus use one constantly.

I should have done a transaction just for fun. Sure the fees would be horrible, but so worth it just to say I did it.

Now I need to keep my eyes open to see if I can find more of them.

@thedarkhorse ikr! just to see what it spit out but what if it stole your info? be careful ... xo

The entire idea of Bitcoin ATM machines sounds so futuristic to me. I don't think we have them here in Belgium. II don't think I would use it if there was one. On the other side, it might make the process of buying BTC a whole lot easier than by going through Coinbase and sites like that.
Marketing-wise, I think it's a great idea, since it makes buying BTC a whole lot easier

Posted using Partiko Android

more ways to turn fiat into crypto the better for the market. Also more ways to turn crypto into fiat the better. Coinbase can be a real PITA so options are good for people.

True. It would be so great to not have to jump through hoops for days to finally get your hands on some crypto ;0)

Would think with higher adaption of the Atm's the fees would come down and even if they are higher it would be worth it to have instant access to your money vs waiting 7-14 days like coinbase. There is an opportunity cost that has to be factored into this and slightly higher fees would for many make it worthwhile.

I know when the market was hot everyone wanted to know about crypto and how my btc was going. Then they switched to saying it's a bubble and will be worthless in a year and the price falling was proof. Then once it stopped falling they just didn't ask me anything for a while. But lately some of these people are seeing articles on CNBC and other financial outlets and they are wondering if it's time to get involved. This time before the next run up in prices. It's an interesting cycle of conversations.

The difference in mindset between seasoned crypto veterans and the general public is hard to overstate. :D

Amen to that!

Closest ATM to me is 8 miles away. You say Bit coin around here and they ask, " What time of year do you plant that crop?

LOL...well you might be surprised about a few of those locals. One or two or them is probably sitting on a ton of bitcoin and just afraid to tell anyone.

I don't think they scare easily. If you think there old fogies you have just made a big mistake. They don't say to much, but when you do get into a conversation and they share something, you better grasp it. LOL

An ATM is ok but for full adoption the banks and institutions need to get involved.
I was in london the other week around china town but didn't see any bitcoin atm's.

Banks getting involved will take more regulation. It's why those who are thinking long term welcome regulation of the space. If this happens we really might see 100k bitcoin at some point. Without the institutions that is a pipe dream

You got a 38.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @thedarkhorse!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80