What are Your Favorite Blockchain-based Alternatives to Popular Apps?

in #crypto6 years ago

The Trend of Decentralized Applications

When YouTube suspended my account with 22k subscribers, applications like Steemit started to become a big deal to me. Even though the Grand Masters at Google gave me my account back, I'm kind of on this kick of trying out new (and dare I say, even advocating for) blockchain-based alternatives to apps people use everyday. And I'd really like to know, what are your favorites?

Apps I use Daily (or at least Weekly!)

So, I'll start by identifying what I currently use and why.

Youtube - Twitter - Reddit - Snapchat - Instagram - Overcast - Facebook - Patreon - Imgur - Wikipedia - Spotify - Trello - Google - Slack... there are probably more I'm not thinking of at the moment. While everything on this list, and those apps that are similar, may not benefit from a blockchain alternative, I'm curious!

Blockchain Alternatives I've Tried

Steemit - Well, duh! I see Steemit as a combination of Blogger, Twitter, and (to some extent) Reddit. I like how easy it is to cultivate a community and upvoting quality content is fun. I do wish we had better search features and access to more analytics, but hey, minimalism isn't always a bad thing. Love it.

DTube - Steemit's counterpart, I've uploaded several videos to DTube. As a YouTube veteran, DTube's bugginess can be annoying sometimes. I don't like seeing an upload fail after my third time trying in an hour. I'm also spoiled by all the features YouTube gives, but there is a sense of relief I get when posting on DTube because less features means less to worry about and (in some ways) less busywork. I do wish DTube had more content creators, the variety of video available usually makes me click back over to YouTube after awhile.

Everipedia - Brand spankin' new on the EOS network, I'm happy to support a Wikipedia alternative that has the potential for less censorship and rewards users with tokens for contributions. I just got my account approved today, actually (at the moment it's invite only.)

Presearch - as described on their website "an open, decentralized search engine that rewards community members with Presearch Tokens for their usage, contribution to, and promotion of the platform." This was introduced to me by @transcript-junky here on Steemit. The link to this website is a referral link of mine, so feel free to sign up and start searching!

What else is out there?

Here are some apps I'm aware of, but haven't tried yet.

  • AKASHA - Decentralized Social Media Network
  • LBRY - a free, open, and community-run digital marketplace.
  • Minds - the crypto social network (isn't Ian Crossland involved in this?)
  • Ello - Social media for artists.
  • Rize - Livestream from your phone.

What do you like to use? What do you recommend?

There seem to be A LOT of these apps popping up, which is great, but it's also hard for someone like me to sift through the masses to figure out what I want to use. Guess I have to sign up for everything...

... unless you tell me what you like!!

Thanks :)

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94