Rat Nest Mining Rig

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

Admittedly im obsessive about a number of things but wiring is not one of them. Just look at this mess...
20181109_134322.jpg (ooops upside down)
Terrible. I dont know what to tell you other than it works.
My other mining rigs arent much better. There's the crate miner...
20181109_142417.jpg made from a shipping crate a cieling fan came in.
And my last addition the shelf miner, made from some bathroom shelves I took out of a house awhile back..
20181109_142431.jpg

I've seen the metal mining frames with all the GPU's lined up side by side but seriously, how do you get any airflow to the thing when it's crammed right next to a heat source. Most all of my GPU's run around 52° C or less. The only real problem I have it Mr Cat swatting at the loose wires hanging down or laying on the keyboard.

Today I added..
20181109_141311.jpg a MSI RX-580 to the mix and I'm not jappy with it's stock bios hashrate so I'll have to modify the bios another day.

As for miners I'm either using xmr-stak or xmrig depending which rig and what GPU. I got 2 more cards on the way and at that time I'm going to switch all rigs over to xmr-stak for ease of configuration and monitoring.

Sort:  

Ooooo Congratulations! Your mining space looks awesome ^o^ I can totally relate to the cabling mess. Cables often to short, not enough Velcro straps or zipties. My mom looks under my desk and says it's a complicated rats nest of crisscrossing cables. But one side is surge the other side battery backup XD

Check out this guy. It was cheap and works fine. Lot of cabling.
Here is a great deal on the Power-One 80+ Platinum 94% 1100 Watt 110-240V GPU Open Air Mining Rig Power Supply ASIC Miner PSU , https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA7GT7FM6812
I found.

For 30$ that's an awesome deal and with 4 year warranty and looks scary as heck XD that thing should easily power most of your GPUs. Perhaps for your mining Moonbase?

I got a 1000W psu already but the last time I tried to get 6 cards on one machine I started getting opencl errors. Using the above to power the risers and cards and all is well. Yes, it was a little tricky getting all the wires on to the terminals but it works perfectly now with no errors.
The thing I dont get is how a RX470 outperforms the RX570 and 580. I'm going to buy 470's when I find them cheap

Are all the GPUs from MSI? Could be build quality, internal components could vary like capacitors or memory controllers, or maybe the baseclock on the 470 is at a sweet spot. if you were on windows I'd recommend using GPUZ to determine which memory manufacture is providing the vram. Might be easier to pull it up on linux. I've often heard samsung performs the best.

They show up as Ellesmere. Not sure what brand of memory. I need to figure out exactly how to do the bios thing right. I got 1 machine now with windows10 on it and want to get some of tbe hasjrates I've read about but I'm afraid to fry a card. I'm poor, cant afford to lose a card for 100-200 h/s gain, so for the most I just use them stock. I'm reading tho, so we'll see

That's a brand I haven't heard of either. BIOS mod is just too risky if you cant afford to lose one. wait until it's end of life or made it's ROI for a newer card. BIOS mods don't look difficult but they have zero margin for error I think especially if the GPU doesn't have a dual BIOS. if one BIOS screws up you can use the other to recover it the other. one thing that's practically risk free and allows for trial and error is overclocking utilities like EVGA Precision XOC for 1080 ti and earlier and X1 for 2070 and higher. for radeon and nvidia could use MSI AfterBurner. I'nm currently on the latest beta. if you have similar cards you can apply your settings synchronously or apply a different overclock to each card if they vary. could also set MSI afterburner to autostart with windows.

It seems pretty straight forward in windows. I ffcant really tell much of a hash increase on that machine because it's using minergate's gui miner and it doesnt reporttrue hashrates. I'm going to pull one of my 570's out of the linux box - modify it snd stick it back in the line up as a test but I'm going to wait until I move them all out of the box and put them on a cabinet I'm collecting lumber for. Tho having them on a box keeps the fan noise down.

Changed the timings. No difference in hashrate. Had to use the pixelpatcher to get windows and miner to ID them again. I'll pit them in my Linux box and see what they do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65