Hello, my name is spaced - I'm an independent hacker/programmer/administrator and I'm interested in learning more about Steem

in #crypto8 years ago

Hello,

Thanks to my interest in cryptography I was a relatively early adopter of Bitcoin. Thanks to this I have spent the last half decade working on whatever open source projects I feel is generally beneficial. I try to stay anonymous where possible and switch between throw away github accounts and contribute or create projects. I have a few that I'm actively maintaining and helping many other projects where possible.

Does Steemit have a decentralized client? Right now it appears to rely on a centralized web client is there any work being done on a decentralized client?

I'm not trolling, can anyone explain why this same concept could not be accomplished with any existing cryptocurrency? I have seen this idea before, but it never gained traction. Clearly this platform is gaining traction and the network affect alone is arguably enough reason, but I'm curious why users of this platform could explain to me why this is better being an independent cryptocurrency.

Thank you for reading this far, any answers are appreciated.

Sort:  

Anyone can build a client for the steem blockchain.
It works because of the community and at the moment the centralized website probably helps a lot building community that also consists of people that are not into crypto. Nothing to install, just register with fb or reddit and paid to post is an easy thing to grasp.

You can contribute here further
https://github.com/steemit/steem
you are welcome!

Thanks, I found that just recently. I have been reviewing the available code. There is a lot of work to be done and I would not mind helping. Just need to find a piece of software that I can create that would have the most impact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44