The adventures of mining (PART 1):steemCreated with Sketch.

in #crypto6 years ago

image

So you want to start mining?

Congratulations so does everyone else interested in crypto. It seems like a great way to make a quick buck right? Buy some parts, flip on a miner and make cash. It's not that easy though. These parts cost money, sometimes a lot more than they should (GPUs). So how can you get started and handle the cost up front?


How I started:

image
This is my Black Friday pc. I didn't build it for mining, but that's how I'm starting to use it. This build didn't come without it's flaws, but I would like to discuss some of the things that I did get right:

  • Cost; this entire build was $229 after rebates, which I definitely recommend you complete. A low cost means I can hit an ROI faster. However, I'm not majorly concerned because I only spent $29 of my own money because I had a gift card from my birthday.
  • Scalability; no, I can't install 20 graphics cards or constantly make major upgrades, but I'm not long term committed to any of the parts in this build, so I can resell them and move on if needed.
  • Performance; this is the most surprising to me. With some major tweaks to improve performance, this actually provides a pretty good bang for the buck in the world of mining.

There are problems though:

  • Performance; the GT 1030 pictured isn't the best at mining. The Ryzen 3 falls short when compared to some other processors.
  • Lack of features; The AB-350 motherboard is extremely limited in features that help for mining. Overclocking is difficult, and any mess up results in a long reset process. There are only 3 PCI-e x16 slots, and two PCI-e slots.
  • Poor case design; this is probably a given at a price of $15, but the case I chose has little airflow and as a result hinders performance. Cable management is a huge problem.
  • Upgradeability My PSU, the EVGA 450 BT sucks for mining. It only has 2 GPU cables and a low power output. The only positive is it is the suggested 80 plus bronze that nearly all PSUs have.

Return On Investment:

At the current rate, difficulty and price, I will ROI at about 20 months. This is pretty awful by mining standards. However, I didn't make the best decisions on this build and will create a new list of suggested parts in the next post. This post is just to establish my own experience and share with you what I have done so far and where I'm planning on going with these posts.


Future posts:

  • Why you should mine and what to expect
  • The pros and cons of mining
  • Cloud mining vs home mining
  • Differences in types of mining
  • Startup costs, retail suggestions, and ROI
  • Setting up your miners and wallets
  • Researching new cryptos and mining oppurtunities yourself
  • Building a rig
  • Building a farm
    & more exciting topics
Sort:  

you are my man

Upvote and follow me, I’ll do same

Congratulations @skyspi007! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @skyspi007! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66095.52
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49