Doug Polk's Video on Suppoman is hella funny

in #crypto7 years ago

With so much money pouring into the cryptocurrency space, particularly in ICOs, social media has become a minefield. Everywhere you step, there's a potential conflict of interest. But that's not a problem for everyone! Enter Michael Suppoman, Udemy instructor and crypto "expert"!

Sort:  

I think Mr. Polk was a bit unfair. While I do think Suppoman is a bit of a schiller of coins, I don't think he is a fraud. I did take his basic course and I thought it to be quite good. Certainly worth the $10 paid.

I think that Suppoman does research these coins and his advice is "reasonably good". Most of his recommendations have done very well. Self fulfilling prophecies maybe, but he does a pretty good job. I think he knows one hell of a lot more than Mr. Polk does about crypto's.

Sure Suppoman is an entertainer first and educator second, but to hear that kind of criticism from Doug Polk is kind of the pot calling the kettle black. Doug Polk is clearly an entertainer first. He frequently says things about crypto that are rather ignorant. I think he does know a fair amount about the "human condition" and his "life advice" is reasonably logical. Unfortunately, he now has a new stick of being an "investigative reporter". Everything is a scam to him it would seem. But the duty of a responsible "journalist" is to understand proportionality. Not all "crimes" are the same. With this video he reminds me of the "me-too'ers" who think that a slap on the behind and forcible rape are somehow equivalent. One deserves a slap on the face the other a long jail term (IMHO).

To compare Mr. Suppo with You Tubers who knowing took money from their viewers to promote Bitconnect or who talk about things they have done zero research on is very unfair. Like much of what Doug Polk does this video was very entertaining and somewhat superficial. I believe the Suppoman does his research and buys his cryptos. Then he does his best to get you to buy them. But I also believe he is basically a hodler and not a pump and dumper. Frankly I don't have a problem with that.

Highly entertaining half truths? You bet. I wonder if when Doug Polk looks in the mirror he sees Michael Suppo. I think they are both well meaning and intelligent men, who have placed more emphasis on being entertaining than being a "public service". But what the hell do you expect from You Tube?

FYI. I intend to keep watching them both. Cause "I am in it for the entertainment" :)

I agree that Suppoman is not that bad all the time, although I think he is annoying sometimes when he gets serious and focuses on the actual markets I think he has good advice for the most part. Doug is just hilarious though the way he uses actual footage to drive home the points which are hard to deny regardless of who you're a fan of. Looking forward to more of this in our space lol (:

The problem I have with Mr. Polk is he seems to be trying to be BOTH a satirist on the crypto world and a hard hitting journalist. Suppoman has actually been a voice of reason against things like pyramid schemes and pump and dumpers. Suppo also addressed the issue about the 2 bitcoin offer and how he did not accept it. He referenced Mr. Polk's prior accusation on this matter and was actually fairly nice in his assessment of Mr. Polk. He frankly showed a hell of a lot more class than Mr. Polk just did.

I frankly think Mr. Polk harmed his own credibility more than Suppomans. That is fine if he is a comedian, but terrible if he wants to be taken seriously. Something tells me he actually cares more about the second one that the first.

It's a good point, but the underlying point is what side are they pushing Bitcoin vs. Altcoins where Doug chooses Tone Vays, Crypto Bobby and Box Mining as reliable resources to watch (Bitcoin maximalists) and Suppoman likes the altcoins, the riskier the better. So it just depends on which side you want to be on.. Thanks for your comments!!

Right back at you. I guess I am kind of in the middle, well sort of. I think Bitcoin will go down in terms of market dominance. Personally I am a huge NEO fan. I like a lot of the major alts and some of the small ones that have interesting use cases.

One thing Doug and I agree on (hell I agree with him on most things other than Suppoman) is Roger Ver, who I think of as the "Bitcoin Judas". He created a civil war in Bitcoin which I think will hurt the brand greatly. I hate the forks. I personally believe the if it had not been for B cash and these other forks that the current value of Bitcoin would in in excess of what the combined prices are of Bitcoin and all the forks. Bitcoin is supposed to be deflationary, but the forks make it inflationary. This attribute makes it much less attractive to main stream investors.

But I am sick of hearing of ICO's that as an American citizen I cant buy because I don't live in a free country. That is the big turn off for me when it comes to Suppoman. I like hearing about the next big thing so I can buy when it hits the small markets, but all he can talk about now is the ICO's.

I don't know if you are old enough to know who Mr. Ed was (the talking horse), but his motto was to never speak unless he had something to say. Many of these You tubers have to come out with videos even when they really don't have anything of value to say. I think if they strived for that, they would not run into these problems.

Peace.

Really a great comment and I agree with all of it. Yes, funny I do remember Mr. Ed even if is a very fuzzy memory of the very first things I remember on TV such as Gumby and the California Raisins lol. Anyways I agree with you on the forks causing a loss in the value of Bitcoin and making confusion in the market so that new investors are too confused to know what to get into. It's literally them attacking Bitcoin so that they can make a fake version of it that they personally benefit from. Oh well that's the way it goes with open-source decentralized platforms, the good with the bad.

Cheers

Doug seems like a smart dude. Do you know if he's on steemit?

He is.

https://steemit.com/@dougpolkcrypto

It's his real account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55