"Free" cloud mining

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

Every so often, I see a post asking about whether cloud mining is worth it or not. I've seen a post before talking about what I'm about to say, but I figure I'll bring it back up since I just finished it myself. Over the last month, I tried looking for getting some free XMR since I can't afford to build a good mining rig.
First off, ** You will need to give a valid credit/debit card onto your account **
Google cloud - https://cloud.google.com/free-trial/ - Set up a google account or login. You might need to setup your credit card information. With the free trial, you get $300 worth of credit to run a VM. I was able to run this for about 50 days until my credit ran out. You can get the best cpu instance which is the 8vcores-highcpu usage giving on avg 255 h/s. For this, you will have to use ssh through the browser.
Amazon EC2 - https://aws.amazon.com/free/ - If you've never used amazon EC2 before, you can sign up for the free tier trial. You only get 1vcore, so it may not even be worth it to you. I used it awhile ago, so I wasn't able to use it to see how it does.
MS Azure - https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/free/ - Create an account or sign in with a hotmail/live account. You get free $200 credit to use towards running a vm. this one was a little shorter. because of the costs, I opted to get the 4vcore instead of the 8vcore, which allows you to run it for 23 days before running out of credit.
Softlayer- www.softlayer.com/info/free-cloud - This is another low, 1 core vm you can get. Again, whether or not you wanna bother with 1 core, up to you.
Century Link - https://www.ctl.io/free-trial - You get $500 free credit with them, but they limit you to a 6vcore vm. The nice thing with CL, is they have cheap as hell prices. It costs about $85/month, so you'll be able to run this for free for almost 6 months, putting out an avg of 250 h/s. This one is a little more difficult to set up though because of their menu. for some reason they issue a vlan ip, and you have to add an external ip then attach it to the vlan ip.
I hope this helps those of you that are interested in some free mining power for a short time. Aside from google cloud, you'll have to use ssh to connect to the vms and set everything up. As for getting right to mining once you connect, here's my workthrough. sudo apt-get install aptitude
sudo aptitude update

Read More

Sort:  

I tried to mine XMR using a few google compute engine virtual machines, they caught me a few days in. I can do storj and sia though, being a file sharing harddrive using tech, it wont flag. I believe google will catch anything mining related very quickly, as I have 3 seperate accounts and all have been caught mining.

Great info thanks! I guess there are no free rides!

Steemit is kind of a free ride though...for the people (not you) making hundreds off of crap posts..lol to them this is a free ride for sure!

I have noticed some of that happening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65730.77
ETH 3446.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32