Crypto exchange fees: Is Bittrex making $160.000.000 a month? Why do we pay this?

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

Every few days I get upset if I do a "bad trade" and realize Bittrex´s fees.

Don´t forget: you do not pay 0.25% on your profit.
You pay it on the full volume you use for the trade.
This is making trades with a spread of $2-3 absolutely useless.

I want to show you an example...

A few minutes ago I did a trade.
I had to react fast because the market did not what I wanted. ;)

As you can see I used 5.95 ETH for that trade. I bought at $272.90 and I sold again at $275.00.

I made an excellent profit in the amount of ≈ $4.00!
Same time Bittrex made a profit in the amount of ≈ $8.15 (≈ $4.07 for each sell/buy)!

Fantastic! Isn´t it? Maybe for Bittrex.

Don´t get me wrong. Bittrex is just one example. Most of the other exchanges do the same.
And I am totally aware of all the expenses Bittrex have to handle.

But is this still a fair deal in the (so called) decentralized crypto world?
I can not imagine.

What do they earn?

Let´s do the math... Conservatively.

Today was a low volume day and they still had: $520.158.321
Source: https://coinmarketcap.com/exchanges/bittrex/

0.25% fee of the volume is:
$1.300.395,8025

The 0,25% fee is charged for makers AND takers.
So the fee is charged 4 times for each trade (trade = buy of buyer/sell of seller and again buy of buyer/sell of seller)

This is 1% fee in total.
In USD it is $5.201.583,21 every day!

30 days/month: $156.047.496,3

Summary: $156.047.496,3

And they charge extra for...

  1. Deposits
  2. Withdraws
  3. Listing new coins (vendor charge)

This are a few millions a month on top.
Let´s say it is another $4.000.000 each month. Not sure if this is enough.

Summary in total: $160.047.496,3

What costs do they have?

• Support staff
• Developing staff
• Extra security staff
• Lawyers
• Servers
• 3pd services
• Office rent
• Taxes

What else? I don´t know.

Let´s say the have a giant staff of 500 people. And each of them earn a giant salary in the amount of giant $20.000.
And let´s imagine the servers and lawyers cost 10.000.000 a month. Absurd numbers. I know!

Then they have costs in the amount of 20.000.000 plus some peanuts like the office rent.
This means they go home with a $100.000.000 profit. Every month. Imagine!

And if they making such huge amounts of money every month why aren´t they able to fix all that bugs on their website if the have such a huge dev team to pay?

The broken paginations, the regularly freezing interface and this unspeakably bad search fields what expanding always two times are only three examples.

Can you please explain to me why we pay it without any yelp?
We need decentralized exchanges for a decentralized crypto world!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sdot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15