"Mandatory" To Update Your Nano Ledger S Before March 20th.

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

ledger-nano-s-large.png

Except..mandatory means not mandatory in Ledger-language.

Shout out to @bengy for telling me about this important news. Thanks a lot man!

 

Why Update

Some security researchers have discovered a few security vulnerabilities in the Nano S. Ledger themselves say that these vulnerabilities are serious, but not critical. Meaning that potential attacks/hacks are possible, but very impractical - and has not ever happened. They can't share details now, but a full blog post will explain on March 20th.

The update of your Ledger Nano S to the firmware 1.4.x is strongly recommended, and will become mandatory on March 20th. Until this date, you are free to use either firmware 1.3.1 or firmware 1.4.x. By mandatory we mean that the Ledger Wallet application will bug you with a popup asking to update your device (but it won't be blocking)
Here is the FAQ

https://support.ledgerwallet.com/hc/en-us/articles/360001341553-Frequently-Asked-Questions-regarding-the-firmware-1-4

Here is the GUIDE

https://support.ledgerwallet.com/hc/en-us/articles/360001340473

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention, good that you published right away! Security is always important.

As a bonus, it ups the limit of apps you can have on the ledger nano s. That was always a bit of a pain!

I don't think people HAVE TO upgrade BEFORE the said date. There is no risk upgrading it sometime down the road. Matter of fact, many say that if its not critical then they would rather not. Title makes it seem like we'll get screwed if we dont upgrade the firmware before March 20th. Not true.

You sure? It says it becomes mandatory on march 20th..I enterpreted that as it must be done before 20th..What did I miss? Just asking, so that I can change the title to a more correct one if its not true...

Aaaand edit. Mandatory means a pop up...OK, lol. Thanks!

I was about to stop doing what I was doing and update right away when I read this news earlier as it totally freaked me out. I was like oh no, I'm going to lose my coins, or something to that effect lol. But yeah, thanks for the heads up regardless, I bet many are not even aware of this coming update!

Mandatory in ledger-language...means...not mandatory, but pop up!

Thank you for the info. Resteemed.

Oh didn't know that, thanks for the info! Resteemed!

Some more technical information about the update: https://www.ledger.fr/2018/03/06/new-firmware-update-1-4-1-available-for-the-nano-s/
A more detailed post about the security vulnerability will be published from March 20th.

what a clickbaitty title, as you have pointed out, there is absolutely no dire need to update, especially before the 20th.

What can I say..I need clicks :D

I changed the headline..I didnt realize mandatory meant ..well..not mandatory :D

The update of your Ledger Nano S to the firmware 1.4.x is strongly recommended, and will become mandatory on March 20th. Until this date, you are free to use either firmware 1.3.1 or firmware 1.4.x. By mandatory we mean that the Ledger Wallet application will bug you with a popup asking to update your device (but it won't be blocking)

Ahhh...so my brand new still in the box Nano S isn't going to explode if I don't update it before March 20th. Not that I want to wait that long, I just haven't gotten around to setting it up.

Thanks for the information.This information will help a lot of Steemians.
The update of your Ledger Nano S to the firmware 1.4.x is strongly recommended, and will become mandatory on March 20th. This update brings a lot of new features to improve user experience while increasing the security of the device.

Thanks for the information.It will help a lot of people to be alert from some security threat.Hope that every body will update the firmware when its available.Thank's for sharing such useful information.Thank's to @scandinavianlife sir for your continuous support for me.@upvoted and resteemed

Did you have any dramas telling you, you had low space and the update couldn't install? I only have btc, LTC and ETH on my nano but apparently have no space left to fit the update...

Read the FAQ, they recommend removing apps first to make room. Also, their server is under load, so do later if it doesn't work.

So if I remove my BTC and LTC app it won't effect my coins?

No, the addresses and balances are on the public ledger. These are linked to your 24 seed words (or 24 plus 1 secret if you use the plausible deniability). The apps aren't holding your balance, they are only a way of interacting with the public chain.

Just make sure you have your seed words in case anything goes bad.

Awesome...cheers!

Try it for yourself, to see how it works. Before doing the firmware update.

Strange. I haven't done it yet :) Did you fix it?

Nah it was telling me to remove apps and make room I only have 3 coins on it, wasn't sure about my coins being safe if I removed the app...i will have to read further into the faq...

You got a 2.63% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @scandinavianlife!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97