My Crypto Journey!!

in #crypto5 years ago

crypto journey cover.pngI thought of sharing with you how has been my rise so far and what are my plans for the future.

2017- Early in 2017 was the first time I heard about Bitcoin. It was from a French colleague during a project launch party, who kept talking about how Bitcoin was going to create a revolution and was going to change the world. I thought it was a scam or pyramid scheme so just kept nodding during the entire discussion, enjoyed the food and drinks then went back home and forgot about the whole episode. Later in 2017 I kept hearing more and more about Bitcoin and once it hit the $20,000 high the media was going crazy about Bitcoin. My crypto portfolio was empty at end of 2017. sigh! if only I had paid more attention to advice from the French guy.

2018- Early 2018 Bitcoin started to crash and people started panic selling. I was thinking if I should start investing now but it seemed very risky so I did not go ahead. However I started researching and reading more and more about Bitcoin. Most of the news articles I found were about price speculation but what really caught my attention was this Greek guy called Andreas Antonopoulus. I was hooked after watching his first video on youtube and slowly finished all his video and then then read his book "Mastering Bitcoin" which explains how Bitcoin works right from the basics. It changed my whole perspective about Bitcoin. Andreas was not focused about making a quick profit. he was a true follower of Satoshi and wanted to see Bitcoin change the world for everyone not just the rich traders. HAndreas is the person who has had the biggest impact on what I think and feel about crypto.

During mid of 2018 BTC was around $6,000 and I finally went ahead and purchased 0,01 BTC. During the following months BTC kept falling and I kept buying small amounts regularly.

2019- Early 2019 I started writing articles about my thought on Bitcoin in my personal blog and shared it with my close friends. I also joined Reddit and Bitcointalk to see what are people across the world saying about Bitcoin. I had a Coinbase account and slowly started to invest small amounts in ETH and XRP also. Soon a friend introduced me to Steemit and Publish0x and told me that they reward in crypto. I now started writing on Steemit and Publish0x and started receiving STEEM, HYDRO and of course BAT. Next I got to know of crypto bounty sites like Bounty0x and Crowldholding, and was receiving bounties in BNTY, YUP, BAT and many other tokens. By mid 2019 my portfolio had over 20 types of coins.
In November I got to know of Uptrennd and created an account there. It's a pity that I joined it last as I have found it to be the most exciting, interactive and fun community. Wish I joined earlier but am glad that eventually I joined it.

Future- Maybe in 2-3 years I plan to return to India and organise something for crypto awareness and share everything I have learnt so far. There are many people in the big cities who are getting aware of crypto but people in smaller towns still don't know anything about it. My dream is to make everyone aware of benefits of crypto. I am a follower of Satoshi and Andreas that Bitcoin should be accessed by everyone, even the poorest and remotest not only for the rich.

Thanks for reading till the end. I realise this post got quite long :)

Originally posted by me on Uptrennd- https://www.uptrennd.com/post-detail/my-crypto-journey~MTc2MDY2

Sort:  

Congratulations @sameerbtc! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97