Cryptocurrency for the Average Joe

in #crypto7 years ago

Good Afternoon Community,

 I'm new to Steemit, but I believe this is a great platform to share the knowledge I have accumulated over the years of investing in cryptocurrency. I started investing in crypto currency back in 2013 on and off, got into it semi-serious 2015 and then very serious in 2016.

A little about me:
I'm 34 years old and I am in crypto currency for the long game (5-10 years). I don't day trade, but I also acknowledge there are times when to sell high before a dip, and then buy again when the price is low so you can accumulate more coins. I work a full-time job and only earn a little below $2,000 a month. For the past two years, I have been willfully living with no car so I can save money to invest in either the stock market, my employee 401k, or crypto currency. My only bills are Cellphone, internet, and I help my parents with their car insurance. Plus any additional expenses for food and misc. items.

My goals:
Currently my portfolio of my invested capital is 74% stock market, 17% crypto currency, and 9% in my 401k. However, if you compare my entire portfolio with the profits gained my portfolio looks like this 26% stock market, 70% crypto currency, and 4% 401k.
In the end we all want to be rich/wealthy/financially independent. For me that means I would like to own a nice car (paid off), own a house (paid off), have no more student loans (approx. $11k at the moment), and own a business.

What I will contribute to the community:
What I hope to do is post an analysis of white papers of alt coins on here as a starting point for people to research on alt coins they would like to invest in. Let's be honest for Average Joe's such as myself $2.7K a BTC is too expensive to come into the market when alt coins are experiencing 20%-40% daily growths. Also, like I said I am in it for the long game, so yes when BTC does drop to a feasible number like below $1k I will pick some up with whatever money I have saved up. In the meantime, alt coins, purchased at the right time, that have a solid road map, and good applications can generate large profits.
What I hope is that I can educate people on solid alt coins that have good applications that will be able to succeed in the future because they have a good plan. There are currently 745 alt coins in the market. You can't possibly invest in all them and not all of them are going be around a year or two from now.

In Closing:
In closing, please look for my first white paper analysis in the next 24 - 48 hrs, please follow me for constant updates and news about the crypto currency market.

Trading Tips:
1- Don't invest money you aren't ok with losing.
2- If you invest $100, you will protect it with a $100 of security, if you invest a $1,000 don't protect it with a $100 of security. Don't leave your coins in exchange wallets for long periods of time. Choose wallets where you control the keys and move coins off the exchange wallets to your private wallets.
3- We are in crypto currency early, that means there is a lot of volatility right now, make investment decisions on the applications of the coin, and if you believe that coin's application has value in the future, buy, hold, and trust your gut that no matter the swings, two to three years from now it will get big.

Thank you for your time. Sorry for the long post, but I am glad to be a part of this community. Please like and follow me. Feel free to shoot me a question anytime and I will reply as soon as I can. Don't forget I do work a lot and am not always in front of my PC.

Sort:  

Welcome romorc! Congratulations on your first post!
Formatting and images will help you get your posts noticed more. Once you have posted a few articles, you may want to post another intro of yourself, using the tag "introduceyourself" as the first tag. This way more people may see it. Good luck!

Thank you so much for the tips I will definitely implement them in my next post. Have a great day!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51