Sort:  

I have to say that Ethereum's valuation is very high considering all the hacks & security incidents - especially the Parity hack. To my knowledge, Steemit has not been plagued by such problems.

As far as TRON is concerned, I didn't invest in the thing just because of the stupid name. I guess the devs saw Neo's success and decided to name their project after a famous Hollywood movie/character.

I'm still saving my cash for when SkywalkerShares are launched!

Yes a whole lot of ICOs everyday, its important investors research a project deeply before deciding to invest. My only advise to people is to look for a project that has a genuine use case and offers other means of making money other than trading , Steemit is the answer!

Earn money on shitcoins and invest in steem and bts. That's my strategy. But hey, what do I know. I'm just an oldtimer.

Value investing isn't in style right now in the crypto space. TRX was actually valued over $17B at one point. If that's possible, then a few of these altcoins are going to make me and others a lot of money. The bubble is just getting started right now and we are going to see a lot of stupid valuations before the year is over. I'm still holding my Steem and Litecoin, but I'm not expecting big returns on those anytime soon. I like SUB, LEND, POE & LINK to easily return 10x+ at these valuations and this market environment. Then I can buy more Steem, Bitshares & LTC with the profits. Thanks for the article!

When people talk bubbles they should keep in mind that the bubbles are NOT crypto-wide but instead are more focused on specific cryptos at various times. Some cryptos values are actually quite accurate, but others are in literally la-la land. Will be interesting to see how this all plays out over the next few months.

PS LTC is about to do some CRAZY shit in the coming months (beyond what most people could possibly expect), and I personally feel it is currently the most undervalued crypto in the top 10 (by far)... if not yet, it will be very soon.

Nice piece..Thanks

@oldtimer good comment and by the way chexk my post i have made it for specially and dont mind it
By the way deep post by friend

That makes sense. I considered to "play more" with shitcoins and HODL the coins / projects I actually believe in.

I grew up surrounded by charlatans. Their proliferation only accelerated as I got older. Fortunately, these value-based developments might actually upend the rules and system by which one can be rewarded for deceiving (or stealing from) people.

It should be obvious that your product is what matters; marketing is an extremely inefficient use of resources if you're concerned about real-world solutions. If you're concerned about money, it's a great game.

I don't know enough of the technical details (not an IT guy) but if you're right, Bitshares and Steemit are doing exactly what I would want the tech to do. Or at the very least they're headed in the right direction.

Anyone creating anything in this world should strive towards it being a good creation, not just whether it can sell. Hopefully we'll also see some education initiatives with the coming disruptions that teach people to reason...or maybe that's too much to ask from tech.

Good read, thanks.

Digging that metaphor for Steemit. How high can we go? They say to the moon. How about to the nearest galaxy please? :D

I vividly remembered it, New Year's day, just woke up and saw STEEM around $4, got a bunch hanging around and sold it hurriedly. Just to see it rise to $8+ the day after. @o@

I had no news about its bullish run whatsoever, yet i see a lot of sh!tcoins and cryptos overhyped then got dumped a day after. Crazy world we are living in, especially for a crypto newbie like me. :3

Looking forward for more:

squeezing out of the crap.

I only invest in cryptos that I actively use. That way I can pay attention to what's happening.

Steem/SBD and Bitshares should be in for an interesting year in 2018 to say the least. Great platforms that are ready to go viral at any point... FULL STEEM AHEAD!

I’m still confused as fuck why SBD is so high when it’s “supposed to be” pegged near $1. But hey, I’m not complaining, and perfectly happy to see it keep rising...

Its not pegged to the usd anymore. Its no longer the steem backed dollar, instead its now the steem blockchain dollar.

well, that makes sense.

nice. 😎

you said sh!tcoin, not us (we call them poopcoins-- more kid friendly!).
But we think alike, as it's true Steemit and BitShares are low on hype and high on usage. We do some speculative "overnite" blog posts for traders, but we mainly focus on research as USED to be done in the stock world prior to the great internet bubble. Please check us out, and here's our latest on Raiden Network which aims to solve some of the problems you identify above....

Learn more about Raiden Network from a seasoned stock analysis pro...
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@harpooninvestor/hot-crypto-of-2018-the-raiden-network

I love this! So hard to decipher what is a shitcoin nowadays and what will be worth something. I keep hearing about Tron but doesn't seem like it is anything yet. I bought Paragon coin , but have no idea if I wasted money or not. New ICOs popping up everyday. The one I think is the most ridiculous is "Cream coin" the one sponsored by Ghost Faced Killah. It will always be worth $1, so why would anyone invest in that? Makes no sense but I am sure people bought it, because it was an ICO.

while i believe in the steem blokchain , mostly because of its proof of work, as a developer i would say you shouldn't for any reason undermine ethereum due to its wide spectrum of applications and how easy integrating the eth blockchain can be.
But in all, steem has everything to offer, alot more than these poocoins out there

Isn’t Steem delegated proof of stake?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86