Can Internet Service Providers (ISPs) "LEGALLY" stop us from mining?

in #crypto7 years ago

This has been lurking in my mind for sometime, especially, now that I bought myself an Alienware to contribute some of my hash power on to the crypto world (it's ironic that I bought the PC first and asking this question after!).

I did google a bit but couldn't find an answer that is based on legal aspect as well as 'practicality' aspect.

Question is: Can ISP providers like Comcast, Time Warner, AT&T etc. deny users from mining?

cloud-computing-626252_1920.png

I know the difference between bandwidth and hash rate and most of our money burns on Hash rate (which is costing us in CPU/GPU power and electricity), however, we still need the internet for our GPU to communicate with rest of the world, as such, can ISPs cut out access to the mining avenues?

Anyone ever face issues with their ISPs because of mining activities? I would really appreciate real life stories and if we have a legal right to access mining opportunities?

Although I am asking specifically about US, I would like to know current status from anywhere.

rules-1339917_1280.png

If an ISP does come out and say that they won't allow mining activities, do we have any recourse? what happens to Bitcoin and other mine-able cryptos?

Picture source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

On what grounds would they do such a thing? You probably use vastly more bandwidth watching a short movie on Netflix than you ever will mining. I wouldn't worry about it.

I was not concerned about bandwidth (I did address this above)...my point is mostly on the legal recourse if ISPs do decide...other words, in an hypothetical scenario, wallstreet and banks come together and join with ISPs to pass such an act, what happens then?

Even if the ISP's Government, banks, wallstreet etc all banded together to ban 'mining' using the internet as a legal issue, then people would simply disobey by using VPN to appear as though in another country. The mining corporations maydevelop a rolling selection of proxy urls too so that 'big brother's eyes' cant determine what is happening.

I see your point.

My question was merely a curious one to see what would happen to this crypto revolution if ISPs pose a threat, not on how to circumvent them :) Thank you for your reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.60
ETH 2685.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86