Sponsored Writing Contest: Kind Ads - Entry from @reonlouw

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for an @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest. You can find the post introducing the contest here:

270 STEEM + 40 Bonuses ~ Sponsored Writing Contest: Kind Ads

My mom raised me well. She was a dedicated, passionate mother with a clear vision of who her son should become. This amazing person who gave birth to me was a lot like an old Baptist preacher: Sometimes right, sometimes wrong but never, ever in doubt!

I wore a suit to church, got good grades and used proper grammar. Obviously, absolutely no cursing was allowed in our house.

Just to be clear, the above picture is not of my mom and me. And you do not know me well enough to laugh like that... 😎

After two years at varsity, my dad looked at my results and announced that he is not paying for such rubbish any more. This resulted in me doing a two-year stint in my country's national defence force. I am unsure who cried more, my mother or me.

Sadly, the army taught me to curse. I was trained by a sergeant who could shout at me for ten minutes without a pause. And without using a single noun or verb that I could quote here, on my current NSFW setting.

Going home was painful. My loving mother got a huge shock and cried for days in response to the language coming from my mouth. Traumatised by her response, I stopped cursing. And I never took it up again, even after my mother's departure to heaven.

Until now!

Nothing ticks me off as much as uninvited, unwelcome, unannounced marketing on the internet. If you want to hear me curse, get an ad to pop up on my screen while I'm trying to read something else. I'll put my sergeant to shame when you interrupt the video I'm watching with an ad. Fill my screen with so many banners I have to hire a private investigator to find the content for which I'm on the page and I'll curse the air blue. Bluer than blue!

I hate the intrusive nature of marketing on my screen but I have a problem...

It is called FOMO. Fear Of Missing Out.

I want to buy things. I'm on Steemit to make money so that I am able to buy more things. There is a long list of things that I want to buy and I want the best price and the best quality. If there is a special on the things for which I am looking, I want to know about it!

How on earth do I reconcile these two things? Am I doomed to be a cursing fool for the rest of my life, upsetting my mother even in heaven?

Enter KIND ADS!

These guys will help you browse the net without cursing! 😇 AND they will help you find the stuff you want and the specials you need! Here are some of the promises they make.

"Kind Ads is an advertising platform that serves user-friendly ads without taking any middleman fees. With Kind Ads, not only do advertisers save money, but publishers keep more of it."


"Kind Ads will show you more relevant ads through channels like email marketing and push notifications so you can browse the web without being bombarded by irrelevant ads."

This sounds to me like a great act of kindness, maybe the most significant possible in our digital world.

For the sake of my beautiful, wonderful mother, please investigate their service!

KIND ADS

They are decentralised, permission-based and highly cost-effective!

@reonlouw

kind2018

Sort:  

Great post. I never heard of them before, but I'm on my way to check them out. Thanks for sharing - your cursing won't bother me (as you already know). :)

Thank @energyaddict22. Was hoping, with my tongue firmly in my cheek, that you would discover this post. :-)

An interesting and diverse article, also had me smiling in parts, and certainly worthy of winning a prize in the @originalworks comp.
Keep up the excellent work. Your Kryptonian friend Socialmediaseo

Thank you @socialmediaseo. Appreciate your support!

And very glad I got you to smile!

You changed gear several times. Every paragraph could become a novel on its own. I loved your mother story. God bless her in haven.
Please, keep writing. Good luck with the @originalworks contest. I hoop you win it!
Kryptonia @nexit.
Until the next time!

Thank you @nexit. Appreciate your support.

Never heard of them before now @reonlouw I believe you will have to stand in line with regard to the ad pop-up's.

I never used them since I personally don't like them, it is like an invasion of privacy. When you researching, reading and someone has those planned into the website design it has a red rag to a bull effect on me as well.

Good luck with the contest on @originalworks for trying not to use choice language, falling foul of what we all feel but dare not say.

Thank you @joanstewart. Glad I am not alone in this. Can't understand that it continues despite our irritation. I would think it to be a very unsuccessful strategy.

Nice write-up @reonlouw and its good to know about Kind Ads because i never knew about thier platform before, wishing you luck in this contest with @originalworks ........ found you on #kryptonia

Thank you @airsoftman. Appreciate your support.

Good luck with @originalworks. Upvoted from Kryptonia@bon-nom

Thank you @bon-nom. Appreciate your support!

Someone have to be remembered of her parents for the great things they do us

Lovely write up... @reonlouw ,, i am just hearing about kind ads for the first time,, you are in always in depth in ya write up and thanks for broadcasting kind ads for all we steemers...

Thank you @awosode. Appreciate your support.

Congratulations @reonlouw ! You received a 50% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.
*For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for max vote.
Steemit reputation score above 25.

If you would like to delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP , 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75