Cryptotrading history: HODL.

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

Hello, everyone!

Today, I'm taking you to class! History class that is and see how this HODL came to be.

What is HODL?
If you've been around long enough or even short enough in crypto, you'll hear people suggest you should HODL your coins. At first, I thought they just misspell but there was everywhere. Hodl this, hodl that, you should hodl, don't hodl to death etc. WTF are these people on about?

Well, here's how it happened. Obviously I wasn't there to witness this in its live glory but it's just as great and funny now as it was back then.

The year was 2013.
The forum: bitcointalk
A guy was drunk and tried to make a frustrated point. Here's his original post that will go down in history of crypto.

He is HODLING, ladies and gentlemen!

The title made it great but then....let's take this line by line:

He first admits that he can't type HOLD no matter what. He tried and gave up. Oh well, you get the idea. :))

Then..GF's out at a lesbian bar, BTC crashing. Are these two connected? We don't know but they might be, or maybe they are both as bad for this guy?

WHY AM I HOLDING? I'LL TELL YOU WHY. It's because I'm a bad trader and I KNOW I'M A BAD TRADER. I still wonder if he's refering to his girlfriend or btc here. He might use it as a drunken metaphor. He loves her, he loves btc?
But taken at face value, god damn it this hits close to home. It's exactly what I've been talking in my trading posts. I know I'm bad trader, I should never touch an exchange ever again!

Yeah you good traders can spot the highs and the lows pit pat piffy wing wong wang just like that and make a millino bucks sure no problem bro. PREACH!

Likewise the weak hands are like OH NO IT'S GOING DOWN I'M GONNA SELL he he he and then they're like OH GOD MY ASSHOLE when the SMART traders who KNOW WHAT THE FUCK THEY'RE DOING buy back in but you know what? I'm not part of that group. As @meesterboom said once "If it's pumpin' then be wary of Jumpin" [ this should go down in history as well]

When the traders buy back in I'm already part of the market capital so GUESS WHO YOU'RE CHEATING day traders NOT ME~! Those taunt threads saying "OHH YOU SHOULD HAVE SOLD" YEAH NO SHIT. NO SHIT I SHOULD HAVE SOLD. I SHOULD HAVE SOLD MOMENTS BEFORE EVERY SELL AND BOUGHT MOMENTS BEFORE EVERY BUY BUT YOU KNOW WHAT NOT EVERYBODY IS AS COOL AS YOU. You only sell in a bear market if you are a good day trader or an illusioned noob. The people inbetween hold. In a zero-sum game such as this, traders can only take your money if you sell. What a quality rant!!! I love it, I felt it, I know it. I'm glad this guys speaks to all of us over the tides of time. Nothing ever changes eh?

GameKyuubi, I hope your girlfriend did not turn out to be a lesbian and thank you for this post!

I laughed my ass off, took a moment to take in the wisdom and recognize that trading as a noob might lead to whiskey.
Be careful out there and when in doubt...

HODL

Sort:  

Hilarious.Made me laugh.

I know :))
wiskey + btc crashing -= Comedy GODL!

Yay, my quote is mentioned in a trading post. I will be forever happy!!

Funny story!

Pit Pat Piffy Wing Wang Wong!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28