Market Research : Comparing Bitcoin/Ethereum/Ripple/Litecoin & Steem!

in #crypto8 years ago

As requested by @dan in his post https://steemit.com/blockchain/@dan/how-many-active-users-do-bitcoin-ethereum-litecoin-and-ripple-have , I have done some research using my google-fu. The results you can find in attached image; if anyone wants the actual .xlsx-file, just let me know.

@cass , work your visualisation-magic, mate! :)

I'm not much of a writer/analyst, so I'll keep my observations short:

- Litecoin is only traded, not "used". A fate that more and more cryptocurrencies are facing.
- Very limited data is available on amount of bitcoin users.
- Take these numbers with a few grains of salt, please. A lot is "guesstimated"; or the sources may be unreliable.
- This is a "snapshot" only valid for today.
- As I wasn't sure what you meant by "growth rate", I have taken the delta in price over the last 24 hrs.

If you notice something strange or have better info, please let us know in the comments, I'll gladly update/edit this post to be more accurate.

@dan , if you have any other questions/needs, let me know. I'm happy to be able to contribute to this project by saving you some google-time so you can spend it on being the magnificent beast/dev you are.

A few mentions for the heck of it: @ned @dantheman @ben @berniesanders @jamesc @smooth @recursive @tuck-fheman  

Sort:  

What is the source for Bitcoin users?

I just took the number of existing wallets, it says so in the notes. Ofcourse, many people will have multiple wallets, I guess.
The exact number of 10M I don't immediately find again, but here's one of 8M just on blockchain.info ( https://blockchain.info/charts/my-wallet-n-users ). So I think, ballpark-wise, it's not too far off. :)

compared to BILLIONS of humans who have no bank account still today (and yet they have a computer or smart phone) this spells astronomical growth for the coins! Banks have strict entry policies and high fees so crypto will soon explode once sold properly

It's the future.

What the world really needs is a website called #wikistats - something like steemit, but where you can ignore or count in the stats from various sources, a #wikipedia, but just for raw data. Crowd sourcing market insight, basically.

Market insight is the biggest vacuum in the world today. We rely on the UN and World Bank for most anything relevant, and their data is purposefully obscure and perpetually outdated. PLEASE SOMEONE BUILD US WIKISTATS. I would if I could take the time!

@dan have you seen this yet? I was gonna make an article, but this guy already hit the nail on the head so I am not going to steal the spotlight from him, but divert said spotlight TO him. I hope @r4fken gets a nice reward! Cheers

Hi, thanks! Really appreciate the feedback!
I have no idea if @dan saw this, because I think mentions are not yet implemented (?). If you have a way to let him know, by all means feel free. :)

Thanks for the support! But, I think mentions are not yet working...

Good. Voted.

Thanks!

I upvoted you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59