Did Hal Finney (Satoshi?) Pay Taxes on Bitcoin?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

On the evening of April 18, 2013, a few months before he disappeared, 90s Cypherpunk Hal Finney who received the first Bitcoin transaction from Satoshi Nakamoto and who is considered a strong candidate for Satoshi, posted the following:

"I aquired most of my coins by mining. This has no anology with currency (unless you're counterfeiting "Smiley" ) so I intend to treat bitcoins as precious metals and declare my profits as capital gains. Since I mined them more than a year earlier, they are long term capital gains. This is not as favorable as usual because it turns out that precious metals, even bullion, are considered "collectables" and taxed at a rate of 28%. Normal rate is 15%. If your overall tax rate is less than 28%, you can pay the lower rate. That is what I intend to do, based on my reading of the IRS documents."

Hal Finney not only paid taxes, he also confirmed the status of Bitcoin as a store of value, a gold 2.0.

The privacy activist and key PGP developer died in Arizona in 2014, but his body is cryonically preserved, so it may not be the end...

Source:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=176432.msg1877928#msg1877928
http://www.latimes.com/local/obituaries/la-me-hal-finney-20140831-story.htmlXRQKF32GKJDJVNZYDXISO3DJRM.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46